Le Mans 24 Hours: Audi leads red-flagged warm-up

Le Mans 24 Hours: Audi leads red-flagged warm-up
Jun 18, 2016, 7:49 AM

Andre Lotterer put Audi on top of the timesheets in a morning warm-up session brought to a premature halt by red flags, the German beating the Toyota of Mike Conway by 1.2 seconds.

The 45-minute session had barely got going when the first red flags came out, as Paul-Loup Chatin put the #23 Panis-Barthez Competition Ligier in the gravel at the Porsche Curves.

At that stage, Loic Duval led the way in the #8 Audi, having completed a sole flying lap of 3m29.178s, with only half-a-dozen cars setting times before the action was suspended.

When proceedings resumed, Conway surged to the top spot in the #6 Toyota with a 3m27.169s, with the #2 Porsche of Romain Dumas coming close to that benchmark with a 3m27.355s.

On his second flying lap after the interruption, Lotterer posted a 3m25.886s to put Audi back on top of the pile, 1.243s up on Conway, and went unchallenged when the second red flags ended the session just under 10 minutes early.

The offending car this time was the #35 Signatech Alpine of David Cheng, who got on the damp kerbs at Indianapolis and spun, hurtling into the barriers at high speed side-on.

In the hands of Nelson Panciatici, the #35 machine had led the way in LMP2 before the first red flag, but in the end it was Rene Rast in the #26 G-Drive Oreca, who topped the times with a 3m40.724s.

Second was the #49 Michael Shank Ligier of Laurens Vanthoor, who posted a 3m41.149s, followed by Andrea Pizzitola in the #25 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier a further two seconds back.

Ford once again topped the times in the GTE Pro class, with category polesitter Dirk Muller posting a 3m57.397s in the #68 car.

Richie Stanaway in the #97 Aston Martin was the German's closest challenger on a 3m58.879s, followed by Richard Lietz's #77 Proton-Dempsey Porsche.

In GTE Am, Patrick Long led the way with a best time of 4m00.162s in the #88 Abu Dhabi-Proton Porsche.

Warm-up results:

1 7  Andre Lotterer 
 Marcel Fassler 
 Benoit Tréluyer 
Audi R18 LMP1 3'25.886  
2 6  Stéphane Sarrazin 
 Kamui Kobayashi 
 Mike Conway 
Toyota TS050 Hybrid LMP1 3'27.129 1.243
3 2  Romain Dumas 
 Neel Jani 
 Marc Lieb 
Porsche 919 Hybrid LMP1 3'27.355 1.469
4 8  Lucas di Grassi 
 Loic Duval 
 Oliver Jarvis 
Audi R18 LMP1 3'29.173 3.287
5 5  Anthony Davidson 
 Kazuki Nakajima 
 Sébastien Buemi 
Toyota TS050 Hybrid LMP1 3'30.256 4.370
6 13  Alexandre Imperatori 
 Dominik Kraihamer 
 Matheo Tuscher 
Rebellion R-One LMP1 3'38.619 12.733
7 26  Will Stevens 
 Roman Rusinov 
 René Rast 
Oreca 05 LMP2 3'40.724 14.838
8 49  Laurens Vanthoor 
 John Pew 
 Oswaldo Negri Jr 
Ligier JS P2 LMP2 3'41.149 15.263
9 25  Michael Munemann 
 Chris Hoy 
 Andrea Pizzitola 
Ligier JS P2 LMP2 3'43.432 17.546
10 36  Nicolas Lapierre 
 Gustavo Menezes 
 Stéphane Richelmi 
Alpine A460 LMP2 3'44.326 18.440
11 38  Giedo van der Garde 
 Simon Dolan 
 Jake Dennis 
Gibson 015S LMP2 3'44.609 18.723
12 43  Bruno Senna 
 Ricardo Gonzalez 
 Filipe Albuquerque 
Ligier JS P2 LMP2 3'44.702 18.816
13 4  Simon Trummer 
 Oliver Webb 
 Pierre Kaffer 
CLM P1/01 LMP1 3'45.164 19.278
14 35  Nelson Panciatici 
 Ho-Pin Tung 
 David Cheng 
Alpine A460 LMP2 3'45.244 19.358
15 41  Julien Canal 
 Nathanael Berthon 
 Memo Rojas 
Ligier JS P2 LMP2 3'46.595 20.709
16 31  Pipo Derani 
 Ryan Dalziel 
 Chris Cumming 
Ligier JS P2 LMP2 3'48.161 22.275
17 37  Vitaly Petrov 
 Viktor Shaytar 
 Kirill Ladygin 
BR01 LMP2 3'49.013 23.127
18 46  Mathias Beche 
 Pierre Thiriet 
 Ryo Hirakawa 
Oreca 05 LMP2 3'51.525 25.639
19 42  Nick Leventis 
 Danny Watts 
 Jonny Kane 
Gibson 015S LMP2 3'52.006 26.120
20 68  Sébastien Bourdais 
 Joey Hand 
 Dirk Müller 
Ford GT LMGTE PRO 3'57.397 31.511
21 97  Fernando Rees 
 Richie Stanaway 
 Jonathan Adam 
Aston Martin Vantage LMGTE PRO 3'58.879 32.993
22 77  Richard Lietz 
 Michael Christensen 
 Philipp Eng 
Porsche 911 RSR (2016) LMGTE PRO 3'59.857 33.971
23 88  David Heinemeier Hansson 
 Patrick Long 
 Khaled Al Qubaisi 
Porsche 911 RSR LMGTE AM 4'00.162 34.276
24 91  Nick Tandy 
 Patrick Pilet 
 Kevin Estre 
Porsche 911 RSR (2016) LMGTE PRO 4'00.630 34.744
25 51  Gianmaria Bruni 
 James Calado 
 Alessandro Pier Guidi 
Ferrari 488 GTE LMGTE PRO 4'00.986 35.100
26 71  Sam Bird 
 Davide Rigon 
 Andrea Bertolini 
Ferrari 488 GTE LMGTE PRO 4'01.426 35.540
27 78  Christian Ried 
 Wolf Henzler 
 Joel Camathias 
Porsche 911 RSR LMGTE AM 4'01.559 35.673
28 98  Pedro Lamy 
 Paul Dalla Lana 
 Mathias Lauda 
Aston Martin Vantage V8 LMGTE AM 4'01.637 35.751
29 64  Oliver Gavin 
 Tommy Milner 
 Jordan Taylor 
Chevrolet Corvette C7R LMGTE PRO 4'03.404 37.518
30 28  Leo Roussel 
  Inès Taittinger 
 Remy Striebig 
Morgan LMP2 4'07.549 41.663
31 89  Marc Miller 
 Cooper MacNeil 
 Lehman Keen 
Porsche 911 RSR LMGTE AM 4'07.862 41.976
32 50  Pierre Ragues 
 Yutaka Yamagishi 
 Jean-Philippe Belloc 
Chevrolet Corvette C7-Z06 LMGTE AM 4'08.237 42.351
33 55  Duncan Cameron 
 Matt Griffin 
 Aaron Scott 
Ferrari F458 Italia LMGTE AM 4'08.706 42.820
34 60  Christina Nielsen 
 Johnny Laursen 
 Mikkel Mac 
Ferrari F458 Italia LMGTE AM 4'11.627 45.741
35 83  François Perrodo 
 Emmanuel Collard 
 Rui Aguas 
Ferrari F458 Italia LMGTE AM 4'14.110 48.224
36 34  Shinji Nakano 
 Nicolas Leutwiler 
 James Winslow 
Oreca 03R LMP2 4'19.862 53.976
37 86  Michael Wainwright 
 Adam Carroll 
 Ben Barker 
Porsche 911 RSR LMGTE AM 4'22.171 56.285
Next article
Le Mans 24 Hours: Drivers’ Parade with James Allen – video

Previous article

Le Mans 24 Hours: Drivers’ Parade with James Allen – video

Next article

Seven cars moved to back of Le Mans grid

Seven cars moved to back of Le Mans grid
Load comments

About this article

Series Le Mans
Event 24 Hours of Le Mans
Location Circuit de la Sarthe
Author Jamie Klein
Be first to get
breaking news