F1 chief Carey named as Le Mans 24 Hours starter

Formula 1 chairman Chase Carey will be the official starter for this weekend’s Le Mans 24 Hours.

With F1’s new owners Liberty Media having opened the door for greater cooperation between international series, especially when it comes to calendar planning, Le Mans organisers have given Carey the honour of waving the start flag on Saturday.

Pierre Fillon, president of the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) that runs Le Mans, said: “I am delighted that Chase Carey immediately accepted the invitation to be 2017 race starter.

“By starting the race side by side, we will be demonstrating the new ties forged between the ACO and Formula One, facilitated by Jean Todt, president of FIA, our partner in the World Endurance Championship.

“With Chase Carey as head of Formula One, the time has come to work together on the sporting calendar, to ensure fans can follow the Grand Prix and endurance racing seasons and enjoy both disciplines to the full."

Previous starters of the Le Mans race include Fernando Alonso, Hollywood actors Brad Pitt and Steve McQueen, plus former Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Le Mans , Formula 1 , WEC
Event 24 Hours of Le Mans
Track Circuit de la Sarthe
Article type Breaking news