ACO reveals automatic invites for Le Mans 2016

Fifteen teams have been issued invites for the 2016 running of the Le Mans 24 Hours, race organisers have announced.

Ahead of the unveiling of the full entry list for 84th running of the French endurance classic, the Automobile Club de l'Ouest has awarded entries on the basis of success in last year's event, as well as the European Le Mans Series, United SportsCar Championship and Asian Le Mans Series.

Headlining the list is the factory LMP1 Porsche team, which took overall honours in 2015, while KCMG, Corvette and SMP Racing all recieve invites for winning the LMP2, GTE Pro and GTE Am classes respectively last year.

ELMS champion outfit Greaves has also been awarded an entry in LMP2, along with Team LNT for winning the LMP3 class. Top GTE squads Formula Racing and Marc VDS have also been invited, as well as GTC champions TDS Racing.

Michael Shank Racing (LMP2) and Scuderia Corsa (GTE Am) have been selected to cross the Atlantic from the TUSC, while Race Performance, DC Racing and Clearwater Racing all sealed their invitations by being crowned champions in their respective classes in last weekend's Asian Le Mans Series finale.

Quadruple amputee Frederic Sausset's SRT41 'Garage 56' entry completes the list of 15 invites.

The full entry list of 58 cars for the 2016 Le Mans 24 Hours will be revealed on 5 February.

Full list of invited entries:

Porsche Team


Greaves Motorsport

Team LNT

Michael Shank Racing

Race Performance

DC Racing (or GTE Am)

Corvette Racing (Pro)

SMP Racing (Am)

Formula Racing (Pro or Am)

BMW Team Marc VDS (Pro or Am)

TDS Racing (Am)

Scuderia Corsa (Am)

Clearwater Racing (Pro or Am)

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Le Mans
Event 24 Hours of Le Mans
Track Le Mans
Teams Porsche Team , KCMG , Corvette Racing , SMP Racing
Article type Breaking news