WKA: Margarettsville Dirt National Finale report

MARGARETTSVILLE, NC-Six hundred and ten racers entered the WKA/Briggs & Stratton Speedway Dirt Series season finale the `Precision Cams Nationals' hosted by Margarettsville Speedway in Margarettsville, NC September 6-8. With national ...

MARGARETTSVILLE, NC-Six hundred and ten racers entered the WKA/Briggs & Stratton Speedway Dirt Series season finale the `Precision Cams Nationals' hosted by Margarettsville Speedway in Margarettsville, NC September 6-8. With national championships on the line there were a lot of close contests and for the first time in a number of years no double winners.

Charlotte, NC competitor Michael Gordon backed up his win in Bully Clutches Unlimited 2-Cycle at Southern Pitt with another at Margarettsville clinching that title for the Buller powered Ultramax kart pilot.

"It was like I was in a tunnel, I never looked back, I just wanted to win," Gordon said after earning the title. "The Buller Motor was strong and the Ultramax Chassis handled great as well."

Gordon turned a 13.430-seconds lap for the outside pole and checked out from there with fifth place starter Matt Hope crossing a distant 3.964-seconds behind him followed by Chris Harrell, former national champion Barrett Terry, of Lenoir City, TN and Billy Tapman.

James Kirby won Clark Fabrication Stock 2-Cycle for that title and took second in American Power Sports Yamaha 2-Cycle for that title.

"The Buller kart was awesome, the best out there, it always is and the motor was fast as always," credited Kirby of Winchester, VA. "I want to thank my teammate Barrett Terry, he made me work for this, Donnie Wheeler, my wife Angie and daughters Brae and Courtney."

Archdale, NC competitor Wayne Poole posted Competition Karting, Inc. Briggs Limited Lite's win which earned the 17-year-old Tod Miller Racing Engines powered Phantom kart pilot that title over David Collins, Jr. who finished 2.153-seconds behind Poole in the race for second place in the national points chase as well.

Collins commanded the pole with a 13.919-seconds lap and took the early led, but surrendered it to Poole before the second lap was booked. Poole led the 16-racer field through a lap two caution and went on to take the final flag with a comfortable 2.153-seconds cushion over Collins.

"Tod Miller's motor was good, and the Phantom kart handled pretty good," Poole said. "I want to thank my mom and dad, my girlfriend Susan and everybody else who's helped us here and back at the shop."

Brooksville, FL based Prowler kart pilot Jason Kimble put the finishing touches on his quest for Power Products/Super Seat Briggs Limited Heavy's title with a perfect win that Saturday. Kimble clocked a 13.938-seconds lap for the pole and held off a hard charging Joey Collins by just 0.022-hundreths of a second at the stripe.

"I knew I had to win and the Prowler kart ran good and the Storming Racing Engine pulled strong the whole race," said the national champion.

In another close title clinching contest Geneva, AL based Andy Pugh posted a narrow win over Darren Brown in Shadow Racing Chassis Briggs Junior Heavy.

"I knew he (Brown) was there the whole time, but the Phantom kart was flying and the WP Racing Engine was real strong the whole time," Pugh said. "It takes consistency and good people behind you to win a national championship and I want to thank everybody that's helped us this year."

Dee Paschal, of Unadilla, GA, nipped Chad Haithcock under Trick Olimpic Karts Briggs Lite's checkered flag for that title. "I never gave up and it's paid off," said the G-Man Kartworks sponsored national champion. "This is a great group of guys running this class and I want to thank them for racing clean all season and I want to thank Harrill Wiggins for the great Phantom kart," added Paschal who builds his own motors.

Dahlonega, GA based Southern Express Kart powered Shadow kart pilot Bradley Gerrells edged out Jacksonville, FL racer Blaze Martin by just 0.206-hundreths of a second under Competition Cams Briggs Animal Heavy's checkered flag making him the first ever Animal Heavy national champion.

Gerrells was the top qualifier turning a 14.539-seconds lap. From the pole he blasted into the early lead with Martin in hot pursuit all the way down to a 0.206-hundreths of a second finish line difference for the win and national title.

"The Shadow kart handled real good on this one and the Southern Express Motor was good too. I want to say a special thanks to my wife for coming here all year and supporting me," Gerrells said.

One of the event's closest title chases ended by just 0.066-hundreths of a second when Ruffin, NC racer took RLV Tuned Exhaust Briggs Senior's checkered flag for the title over defending national champion and former points leader Stevie Stephenson.

"It was tough, I picked the wrong clutch," Hall admitted. "The Infinity kart was good and the Beef Performance motor ran real good I just want to thank my crew they did a great job all year."

Champions in the WKA/Briggs & Stratton Speedway Dirt Series will be crowned at an awards dinner Friday January 23rd in the ballroom of the Hickory, NC Holiday Inn during KartFest 2003.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart
Drivers Dee Paschal , Stevie Stephenson , Bradley Gerrells , Darren Brown , Tod Miller , Wayne Poole , James Kirby , Barrett Terry , Blaze Martin