WKA: IRL SoK: Toronto season finale preview

Snap-on Stars of Karting presented by the IRL to Crown 2006 National Champions at Series Finals this Weekend Seattle , WA -- (September 20, 2006) : The National Champions of American karting will be crowned this weekend at the Snap-on Stars ...

Snap-on Stars of Karting presented by the IRL to Crown 2006 National Champions at Series Finals this Weekend

Seattle , WA -- (September 20, 2006) : The National Champions of American karting will be crowned this weekend at the Snap-on Stars of Karting presented by the IRL Finals at Woodbine in Toronto. In addition to a record purse payout of over $26,000 in cash, the Snap-on Stars of Karting/Skip Barber Scholarship (worth a full season in the Skip Barber National Series), the $25,000 Jim Trueman Memorial Award, as well as additional prizes from Zoombang Products, Memo Gidley's Secrets of Speed, and Jam Air Paint are all on the line this weekend at the temporary circuit constructed at Woodbine. This purse is all in addition to the $8,000 in Snap-on Certificates that are awarded to all classes at each Snap-on Stars of Karting presented by the IRL weekend.

The festivities will kick off on Thursday evening with the annual series banquet and year-end party to be held in the trackside hospitality area at the Woodbine Entertainment Complex. The Grand Products Social Hour will take place from 6:00 -- 7:00 P.M. with each attendee receiving a free beverage courtesy of Grand Products. From 7:00 -- 9:00 P.M. a dinner and series awards banquet will be emceed by series announcer and Super Karts Illustrated and ekartingnews.com owner Rob Howden. Series President Paul Zalud, Snap-on Tools President Al Biland, and series marketing director Jeff Swoboda will also address the crowd. Snap-on Tools will provide tool carts to all divisional champions at the banquet.

On track the action will start up with practice and a media race on Friday, and qualifying and prefinal action beginning on Saturday and leading to the feature events on Sunday.

In the Cytomax ICC (shifter) class the racers will battle for a $5,000 championship points fund prize and a $2,500 prize for the race winner. PCH Motorsports CRG driver Gary Carlton brings a sizable lead in the national standings into the weekend but still faces strong competition from Tad Funakoshi (Italkart) and the always fast Canadian pilot Jordy Vorrath (Leading Edge Champion Intrepid). The hard-working Carlton could cap an impressive season which has seen him win with two different teams and in both the East and West divisions. The lead mechanic of the 2006 Cytomax ICC National Champion will receive a $1,000 bonus as well courtesy of Snap-on.

The direct drive warriors in the ICA class come into the weekend with a tighter battle on top of the standings as they battle it out for the $5,000 championship prize. Jess Perterson (Intrepid) holds a slight lead over 2005 ICA runner-up and Jim Trueman Award winner Joel Miller (Tony Kart USA). Nick Tonkin (Birel) and Chris Larson (Gillard) could also be in contention for the title in the ICA class this weekend.

The Spec Racer category pilots will square off for a $1,000 championship prize and Margay's Brandon Adkins looks to be the strong favorite for the title heading into the weekend. However, Canadian Devon Sandeen (First Kart) has been strong all season in the West Division and could mount a strong challenge to Adkins. Eric Gerrits (First Kart) and Adam Johnson (Top Kart) also look to be strong contenders heading into the weekend. As in the Cytomax ICC class, the lead mechanic for the 2006 ICA National Champion will receive a $1,000 Snap-on bonus as well.

The PCH Motorsports JICA category will see one of the hardest fought battles of the weekend with a $1,000 championship prize on the line. With divisional champion Brett Smrz (First Kart) not competing at this weekend's Finals in Woodbine the race is wide open with Colombia's Carlos Munoz (Birel), Kamloops, British Columbia's Brendan Langlois (Maranello), and Wildomar, California's Jacob Neal (PCH Motorsports CRG) all being realistic contenders for the championship. In addition, Zoombang Products will award its High Impact Award on Thursday evening's banquet to a driver moving up to the Cytomax ICC or ICA classes. Memo Gidley's Secrets of Speed Book Series will also select three drivers from the PCH Motorsports JICA category to receive future coaching and support from the karting icon and North American sports car and open-wheel star.

The King Taco Cadet front-runners have already been awarded a generous prize courtesy of class sponsor King Taco which will send East Division Champion Gabriel Chaves (Nevoso) and West Division champion Oscar Tunjo (Nevoso) to a 2007 IRL event with a parent. Sebastien Ordonez (Juncos), defending National Champion Sage Karam (Birel), Nick Neri (Shockwave), Devin Jones (Nevoso), and Dylan Nobile (Nevoso) all pose realistic threats to what will be the most hotly contested championship race of the weekend as these young pilots battle for a $1,000 championship prize.

-credit: irl stars of karting

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart
Drivers Memo Gidley , Brandon Adkins , Rob Howden , Skip Barber , Gabriel Chaves , Joel Miller , Carlos Munoz , Brett Smrz , Oscar Tunjo , Sage Karam , Nick Neri , Devin Jones