Travisanutto seals WSK Super Masters title as Basz leads Garcia in finale

Kosmic Racing's Karol Basz took a flag-to-flag win in the final WSK Super Masters round of the season at Adria, which saw Lorenzo Travisanutto crowned champion.

Travisanutto seals WSK Super Masters title as Basz leads Garcia in finale

The 16-year-old Italian, winner of the second of four rounds, was only fifth in the standings before the round but a consistent performance at Adria - Travisanutto placing fourth in the pre-final and third in the final - allowed him to steal the title.

Both of the aforementioned races were won by Basz, with OK-class rookie Marta Garcia taking a shock second in the final.

Starting third, the Spaniard quickly overtook front row starter Tom Joyner, who dropped to the lower ranks of the top 10 before retiring.

One second behind Basz, Garcia slowly made up ground in the first half of the race, halving the gap.

However, Basz responded with a couple of stronger laps, bringing the difference back to a second.

Travisanutto gained third after passing the struggling Joyner and then cruised to the finish as fellow Ward Racing teammate Alexander Smolyar completed the top four.

Felice Tiene took fifth, demoting fellow CRG driver and rookie Paavo Tonteri, who was passed by ELMS driver Ben Hanley as well.

OK class top 10:

1  Karol Basz Kosmic Racing  
 Marta Garcia Lopez Evokart +0.870s
3  Lorenzo Travisanutto Ward Racing +4.368s
 Alexander Smolyar Ward Racing +4.971s
 Felice Tiene CRG +7.112s
 Ben Hanley KSM Schumacher Racing +7.276s
7  Paavo Tonteri CRG +7.936s
 Christian Lundgaard Ricciardo Kart +8.862s
 Clement Novalak Tony Kart Racing Team +10.382s
10  Noah Milell Kosmic Racing Team  +11.898s

Taoufik OKJ champion, Collet wins title

Birel ART driver Caio Collet, 13, was victorious in the OKJ final as Sami Taoufik converted his pre-event championship lead into his first international title.

Starting second alongside teammate Ulysse de Pauw, Collet was shuffled down the order, having lined up on the outside lane.

He quickly recovered and was second already by the end of Lap 3, putting pressure on leader Dennis Hauger.

Although the former 60 Mini star soon surrendered to Collet, the latter failed the shake both him and Taoufik off.

The trio spent the entire race separated by just half a second but, with Hauger and Taoufik seemingly not willing to risk their first podium and title respectively, they finished in an unchanged order.

Noah Watt, winner of the CIK-FIA European Championship opener a week ago, passed Fin Kenneally for fourth, the Briton himself ending up fifth.

OKJ class top 10:

1  Caio Collet Birel ART Racing  
 Dennis Hauger CRG +0.205s
3  Sami Taoufik Ricky Flynn Motorsport +0.508s
 Noah Watt Baby Race +1.599s
 Fin Kenneally Ricky Flynn Motorsport +4.654s
 Ilya Morozov Ward Racing +4.844s
7  Ulysse de Pauw Birel ART Racing +5.036s
 Teddy Wilson CRG +8.296s
 Alejandaro Lahoz Lopez Privateer +8.451s
10  Gillian Henrion Privateer +8.764s

Ardigo claims KZ trophy, Lorandi KZ2 winner by one point

Marco Ardigo took a third consecutive win in the fourth WSK Super Masters round and became the dominant champion of the KZ class.

Starting from pole, he held off early pressure from five-time world champion Davide Fore and started to pull away from mid-way point onward.

He eventually crossed the line by 1.4s with Fore and Jeremy Iglesias making it to the podium.

Fifth on the grid, the latter overtook Jorge Pescador and Flavio Camponeschi for the position, Camponeschi eventually settling for eighth.

The top five was completed by Bas Lammers, who finished just ahead of Sodikart teammate and championship runner-up Anthony Abbasse.

In the less powerful shifter class of KZ2, class rookie Leonardo Lorandi became the champion.

The 16-year-old claimedthe title by taking the class win as former points leader Giacomo Pollini received a 10-second time penalty for causing a collision.

He dropped 14th as a result, which was just enough to end up with one point less than Lorandi.

KZ class top 10:

1  Marco Ardigo Tony Kart Racing Team  
 Davide Fore Gold Kart Racing Team +1.446s
3  Jeremy Iglesias Privateer +2.539s
 Jorge Pescador Praga Racing Team +3.670s
 Bas Lammers Sodikart +3.911s
 Anthony Abbasse Sodikart +4.023s
7  Patrik Hajek Kosmic Racing +4.434s
 Flavio Camponeschi CRG +4.702s
 Leonardo Lorandi (KZ2) Baby Race +9.514ss
10  Gary Carlton Formula K Racing Team +12.135ss

Paparo seals 60 Mini title with win

In the lower category, Michael Paparo added the WSK Super Masters title to his WSK Champions Cup crown.

Despite temporarily dropping to third from second on the grid, Paparo passed both title rival Francesco Pizzi and Spaniard Jose Gomez to lead the final three laps.

He crossed the line half a second ahead of Gomez as the duo managed to slightly pull away due to battles behind them.

Giugliano Kart teammates Pizzi and Roman Stanek both ran wide on the final lap, letting Luigi Coluccio steal the final podium position.

Stanek took fourth as Pizzi had to settle for fifth and second in the standings.

60 Min class top 10:

1  Michael Paparo Formula K Junior Team  
 Jose Gomez Gamoto SNC +0.870s
3  Luigi Coluccio Real Racing +4.368s
 Roman Stanek Giugliano Kart +4.971s
 Francesco Pizzi Giugliano Kart +7.112s
 Leonardo Cagliono Giugliano Kart +7.276s
7  Maestro Moar Evokart +7.936s
 Adam Putera Gamoto SNC +8.862s
 Alfio Spina Gamoto SNC +10.382s
10  Andrea Antonelli RB Racing +11.898s
Basz wins thrilling European Championship opener, Watt dominates junior class
Previous article

Basz wins thrilling European Championship opener, Watt dominates junior class

Next article

Hiltbrand wins second European Championship round amid last-lap chaos

Hiltbrand wins second European Championship round amid last-lap chaos
Load comments