SRFKC: Mosport Sunday race summary

Vincec, Arnold, Gerrits, Ostella and Hibbs take wins Vincec has a career weekend, leaving Mosport leading three classes MOSPORT, ONTARIO You could argue that in the second half of the season in any championship, the cream rises to the...

Vincec, Arnold, Gerrits, Ostella and Hibbs take wins
Vincec has a career weekend, leaving Mosport leading three classes

MOSPORT, ONTARIO You could argue that in the second half of the season in any championship, the cream rises to the top. If that was the case this weekend, the driver making the most noise was Mike Vincec. With a win today in Formula Senior, he now leads the points in three classes Formula Senior, DD2 Shifter and Rotax Senior.

Reid Arnold rebounded from a bad day yesterday to win Canada Junior Light, while Eric Gerrits won a hard fought Rotax Senior race. David Ostella had his hands full in Rotax Junior, but he still managed to take the win. Richard Hibbs went from the lead to third, then back to the lead to take the win in F1K Senior.

It is clear that with just two weekends left in the Sunoco Ron Fellows Karting Championship presented by Toronto Star Wheels, some drivers are making a serious charge to win their classes in 2007.

Formula Senior
Pfaff Fast Qualifier Curtis Fox

The Formula Senior pre final saw Mike Vincec win from second on the grid ahead of Michael Di Meo and Curtis Fox. In the Formula Senior Final, Mike Vincec had it all his own way. Michael Di Meo was second in early going.

Curtis Fox was third, before spinning while trying to pass Di Meo for second. He dropped back to 9th. Fox worked his way back to fifth, behind winner Vincec, Di Meo in second, Raimondo in third and Usher in fourth.

Canada Junior Light
Pfaff Fast Qualifier Bryson Schutte

In Canada Junior Light prefinal, Artem Korolev, Giovanni Pizzale Rhead and Garret Grist all battled for the top spot. Korolev hung on for the win, coming from fifth on the grid. Rhead was second and Grist third. In Canada Junior Light, Reid Arnold won after following Austin Milwain for the first half of the race. Arnold pushed Milwain forward enough so they could settle it by themselves. Milwain was second and Grist was third.

Rotax Max Senior
Pfaff Fast Qualifier Brad Forbes

In the Rotax Senior prefinal, Eric Gerrits led from the drop of the green until being passed for the lead by Brad Forbes. Forbes went on to win, and Pearce Herder passed Gerrits for second in the final turn. In Rotax Senior, Brad Forbes led for the first half of the final before being overtaken by eventual winner Eric Gerrits. Gerrits slowly pulled away from Forbes to seal the win. Forbes was second and Darren White held off Marco Di Leo for third on the last lap.

Rotax Max Junior
Pfaff Fast Qualifier David Ostella

In the Rotax Junior, David Ostella led with Joshua Korenyi second and Kevin Monteith third. Monteith made his way past Korenyi for second, then past Ostella for the lead. On the last lap, Ostella setup Monteith heading into the last section and made the pass back for the lead.

Ostella won, Monteith second, Korenyi third. In the final, there were two red flags, but that didn't stop David Ostella winning from the pole.

Joshua Korenyi was second after the second restart, but Kevin Monteith was making his way forward. He moved Korenyi out of the way to move to second. Korenyi went back to fifth, but made his way back to finish third.

F1-K Senior
Pfaff Fast Qualifier Richard Hibbs

In F1K Senior Richard Hibbs led from the drop of the green flag, while Mark Woyslaw and Mike Lennie squabbled over second place with Woyslaw taking the spot. Lennie came home third.

In the F1K Senior final, Richard Hibbs took the lead early, with Mike Lennie and Mark Woyslaw in hot pursuit. Lennie tried a move on Hibbs and took the lead, bringing Woyslaw with him. Several laps later, Woyslaw was along side Lennie heading into the final turn and the two collided handing the lead back to Hibbs.

Hibbs went onto win over Jesse Chaisson and Woyslaw, who rebounded from the incident with Lennie. That incident with Lennie was under protest, and the results will become official next week.

GM Racing Award
The GM Racing Award is awarded to the driver judged by the series to have displayed outstanding competition skills and sportsmanship. The award on Saturday went to Aaron de Heus for his win in Canada Senior, and Sunday's went to Darren White.

Pratt & Miller Team Spirit Award
The Pratt & Miller Team Spirit Award is presented to the participant (s) judged by the series to have exhibited outstanding teamwork in the areas of presentation, preparation and results. This weekend, Greenspeed Karting won the award for having three Tony Karts on the podium this weekend.

-credit: srfkc/bond

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart
Drivers Ron Fellows , David Ostella