Pit board 2010-11-08

WKA's Pit Board - 11.09.2010 *** Statement from Daytona International Speedway 11.09.2010 (Daytona Beach, Fla.) - Daytona International Speedway is looking forward to hosting competitors from the World Karting Association for Daytona...

WKA's Pit Board - 11.09.2010


Statement from Daytona International Speedway

11.09.2010 (Daytona Beach, Fla.) - Daytona International Speedway is looking forward to hosting competitors from the World Karting Association for Daytona KartWeek on Dec. 28-30.

Daytona International Speedway takes great pride in its rich tradition of kart racing and the "World Center of Racing" is looking forward to showcasing three great days of WKA competition with the Dirt Championships on the Daytona Flat Track and the George Kugler / Bridgestone Manufacturer's Cup Series driven by Mazda on the sprint track inside Turns 3 and 4.

Due to the historic Daytona Repave, the 3.56-mile road course will not be available for road racing but we look forward to their return in 2011.


2010-2011 Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shoot-Out Entry List announced

11.09.2010 (Lakeville, Conn.) - Last year, 36 drivers gathered to compete at Sebring International Raceway in the 13th Annual Skip Barber Karting Shootout. Florida teens Spencer Pigot and Felix Serralles went home with the biggest prizes of the event, both winning scholarships to compete for the entire 2010 season of the BFGoodrich / Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda. These scholarships are provided on behalf of MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development and the FIA Motor Sport Safety Development Fund.

Other winners included Nicholas Costa with a half-season in the Skip Barber National, and Mukul Sud and Sebastian Ordonez with full seasons in the Skip Barber Regional Race Series.

This December, almost 40--and still counting--young aspiring racecar drivers will meet at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca to compete for the same scholarships. During the four-day competition, drivers will not only be evaluated on their on-track performance but also how they present themselves and effectively listen to and apply feedback.

Last year's Shoot-Out winner Spencer Pigot went on to win the Skip Barber National Rookie of the Year title, Skip Barber National Championship and one of two Team USA Scholarships to compete at the Formula Ford Festival and Walter Hayes Trophy event. The winner of the BFGoodrich / Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda championship is awarded a scholarship for the next highest level in a Mazda or Mazda powered support series.

Now in its 13th year, the 2010 BFGoodrich / Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda is a 14-race championship that represents the initial step in the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development open-wheel ladder system. The Skip Barber National is the series that launched the auto racing careers of Marco Andretti, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger and Raphael Matos, plus dozens of other drivers succeeding in IndyCar, NASCAR, Grand-Am, American Le Mans Series and the SCCA.

To read more about the opportunity and rich history of the Karting Scholarship Shootout, pick up the October issue of National Kart News magazine and turn to page 38. Digital copies of this magazine are also available for viewing at www.nkn.com.

Confirmed Entries for the 2010-2011 Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shoot-Out

Name, Age, Hometown, Most Recent Karting
Neil Alberico, 18, Monte Sereno, CA, CKI National Championship Series
Franco Aragones, 14, Cancun, Rotax Southeast Series
Nick Arrotta, 25, Greenacres, WA, National Karting Alliance
Courtney Atkinson, 17, Franklin, WI, World Karting Association
Sam Beasley, 16, Painesville, OH, Florida Winter Tour, World Karting Association
Nova Brown, 15, Venura, CA, Los Angeles Kart Club
Sabre Cook, 16, Grand Junction, CO, CKI National Championship Series
Ian Costa, 21, Pleasanton, CA, Kinsmen Kart Club
Logan Downing, 18, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Western Rotax
Jake Eidson, 15, Littleton, CO, SKUSA
Danilo Estrela, 15, Long Branch, NJ
Gregory Evans, 20, Walnut Creek, CA, Jim Russell
Patrick Gallagher, 18, Thornville, OH, World Karting Association
Michael Grijalva, 19, Rough and Ready, CA, International Kart Federation, Northern California Karters
Scott Hargrove, 15, Surrey, British Columbia
Trent Hindman, 15, Wayside, NJ, Florida Winter Tour
Andrew Hobbs, 16, Glendale, WI, TAG World Championships
Devin Jones, 15, Mooresville, NC, International Kart Federation, World Karting Association
Kyle Kaiser, 14, Santa Clara, CA, International Kart Federation
Dalton Kellett, 17, Stousfville, Ontario, ASN Canada FIA Canadian National Karting Championship
Kenton Koch, 16, Glendora, CA, International Kart Federation, So-Cal Sprinters Kart Club
Dillon Kranz, 23, Columbus, WI, Badger Kart Club
Kyle Kuntze, 21, Poway, CA, International Kart Federation, NCK Karting
Nicholas Latifi, 15, Toronto, Ontario, ASN Canada FIA Canadian National Karting Championship
Mason Marotta, 16, Carmel, CA, CKI National Championship Series
Natalia Mayo, 16, Oceanside, NY, World Karting Association, TAG
Shinya Michimi, 17, Mason, OH, World Karting Association
Jack Mitchell, 14, Clarendon Hills, IL, Rotax Junior
Sarah Montgomery, 16, Lafayette, LA, Firestone Tri-State Series
Gregory Muender, 23, San Diego, CA, Jim Hall Kart Racing
Tristan Nunez, 15, Boca Raton, Florida Winter Tour
Rzadzinski Stefan, 17, Edmonton, Alberta, CKI National Championship Series
Austin Self, 14, Austin, TX, KartSport, Florida Winter Tour
Shawn Sharkey, 16, Middletown NJ, Championship Karting International
Zachary Silver, 14, Hinsdale, IL, SKUSA SuperNationals
Aaron Telitz, 18, Birchwood, WI, CIK, TAG
Alec Udell, 14, Hinsdale, IL, Team USA Jr. Rotax
Jason Wolfe, 16, Mount Vernon, OH, Midstate Ohio Kart Club

Entry list is unofficial as entries are still being confirmed and processed.

Keep up to date by visiting www.skipbarber.com for all Skip Barber Racing School news.

-source: wka

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart
Drivers Ryan Hunter-Reay , Scott Speed , Skip Barber , Marco Andretti , Felix Serralles , Spencer Pigot , Alec Udell , Stefan Rzadzinski , Tristan Nunez , Neil Alberico , Trent Hindman , Nicholas Costa , Sabre Cook , Dalton Kellett , Jason Wolfe , Patrick Gallagher , Scott Hargrove , Kyle Kaiser , Andrew Hobbs , Jake Eidson , Danilo Estrela , Nicholas Latifi , Aaron Telitz , Kenton Koch , Devin Jones , Sarah Montgomery