Pit board 2010-05-29

WKA's Pit Board - 05.20.2010 *** Roebling Road national delivers great racing, a strong entry count 05.20.2010 - The Southern Kart Club and WKA put on a terrific third round of the 2010 WKA Dunlop Tire Road Racing Series driven by Mazda last...

WKA's Pit Board - 05.20.2010


Roebling Road national delivers great racing, a strong entry count

05.20.2010 - The Southern Kart Club and WKA put on a terrific third round of the 2010 WKA Dunlop Tire Road Racing Series driven by Mazda last weekend at Bloomingdale, Georgia's Roebling Road Raceway. The event featured top-shelf racing flaked by a multitude of off-track activities, including a Saturday night cookout with good food, friends and award giveaways.

An unofficial entry count approaching 350 meant nearly 100 more entries than the 2009 Roebling Road WKA national. The Road Racing Series continues to gain momentum in that respect; the Roebling Road national marked the third straight Road Racing national that had more entries than the 2009 event at the same track.

The SKC did a fine job promoting the event. The race drew teams from all over the eastern half of the country. The Savannah Morning News covered the event all weekend with photos, stories and results on their SavannahNow.com Web site. On Saturday the Savannah Morning News ran coverage of the event on the front page of the Sports section, which included a story and photos. To read an article that was posted on Saturday, go to savannahnow.com/sports/2010-05-15/kart-races-take-turn-roebling-r oad .

On the track, Western New York driver Adam Myers led the way with four national race wins. Myers swept the PP Can Sprint and WKA Sprint divisions, taking two wins in each category. The 20-year-old shoe was the only driver to race to four wins at Roebling.

The only driver to net three national victories was Florida's Matt Michel, who won 100cc Pipe Heavy and the pair of Yamaha Sportsman mains. Michel's success at Roebling made it seven wins in the last two Road Racing weekends. Michel won four mains in March at Kershaw, S.C.

Eight drivers took a pair of wins. North Carolina youngster Joey Kuley won both Briggs Jr features. Derek Somers did the same in the 2-cycle Jr Sprint divisions.

Illinois pilot Jonathan Evans won the ultra-competitive Briggs Animal 335 and 360 mains. The senior Animal divisions were once again the deepest divisions with around 30 senior Briggs racers in attendance.

Josh Lane, also hailing from Illinois, won Stock Honda 2 and CIK 125 Shifter 2. Lane got both his wins on Sunday after getting shut out Saturday.

Don Chrzan made the long trek to the Savannah area from his home in Wisconsin and drove to victory in 100cc Controlled and Formula 100 #1. Mike Lattos, another Wisconsin racer, won the Formula 125 and Unlimited Final 1 mains.

Mooresville, N.C.'s Chuck Gafrarar couldn't match his four-win weekend at Kershaw, but did manage to triumph in a pair of races at Roebling. Gafrarar won Stock Leopard Final 1 on Saturday and TaG 2 on Sunday.

Florida's Brad Zoeller skipped Kershaw but returned to the series at Roebling and promptly put his TS Racing-sponsored kart in victory lane on two occasions. Zoeller won both WKA 125 Shifter features.

Single national race winners included Scott Buerman in 100cc Controlled Spec 1, Lance Fry in Controlled Spec 2, Scott Goodman in 100cc Pipe Medium and Kevin Colborn in Briggs Animal 385. Mikey Wright earned his only win of the weekend in CIK 125 Shifter 1.

Michael Hickey won Formula 100 #2. The PP Can enduro divisions saw three different victors - Lance Yunck in Lite, Richard Marz in Medium and David Stolte in Heavy.

Brian Danilei and Don Guilbeault each won a Spec 125 TaG main. Brian Davies got the win in Stock Honda 1. Richard White and Beth Chryst were each able to best Gafrarar; White won Stock Leopard Sprint Final 2 and Chryst captured the TaG 1 feature.

Chad Dokken turned the fastest laps of the weekend on his way to a big win in Unlimited Final 2. Dokken's fast lap was a blazing 1:09.870, some four or five seconds quicker than his closest competitors.

Eleven local options hit the track over the weekend. A strong group of Clone-powered karts ran both days. Dennis Claunch won both Int'l 4-Cycle (Clone) mains. Joe Kuley got the win in Briggs Limited Mod Heavy 1; Mike Stroik edged Jonathan Tedder in Sunday's Limited Mod Heavy 2 feature.

Todd King and Alfonso Greco split the Briggs LO206 divisions. New Englander Louis Magiera drove to the win in Open Sprint 1, while Dokken won Sunday's Open Sprint 2.

Dick Charest won the Vintage main at Daytona and got his second win of the season in the Vintage class at Roebling. Nick Weil and Joseph Vilece each won an SKC DD2 main.

Award winners were: Randy Rhodes and Larry Davis won American Power Sports gift certificates; Ben Morris won a new Briggs LO206 engine, and Donald Culver and Joe Cuslidge won Jimmy Sims Box Stock Project Clone engines.

Next up on the WKA Road Racing schedule is the annual Grand National for the series at the famed Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. The event goes off June 11-13 and is hosted by the Ohio-based Dart Kart Club.

Mid-Ohio pre-registration is open until Friday, June 4. To view the Mid-Ohio entry blank, weekend schedule and other important information regarding the highly anticipated event, go to www.worldkarting.com/downloads/eb-2010/0611_midohio_rr.pdf .


Second Briggs Limited Mod Heavy and DKC Team Race added to Mid-Ohio card

05.20.2010 - A rising interest and fairly strong entry counts in the Briggs Limited Mod Heavy division at early-season WKA Dunlop Tire Road Racing Series driven by Mazda nationals has led the Dart Kart Club and WKA to add a second Limited Mod Heavy class to the schedule for the June 11-13 Grand Nationals at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Briggs Limited Mod Heavy 1 is now included in Saturday's Race Group No. 2. Blue Ribbon Racing Briggs Limited Mod Heavy 2 is still included in Sunday's second group.

Also, the DKC Team Race, an annual attraction at Mid-Ohio and other Midwest Road Racing nationals, has been added to Sunday's second race group.

The Mid-Ohio entry blank and schedule has been updated to reflect these changes and can be viewed at www.worldkarting.com/downloads/eb-2010/0611_midohio_rr.pdf .


Former WKA Triple Crown champion picks up sponsor for Charlotte Nationwide race

05.20.2010 (Irmo, S.C.) - Danny Efland announced today that C3i Sports will again be the primary sponsor for the No. 07 Chevy in the NASCAR Nationwide Series race May 29, 2010 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. C3i Sports, a Columbia, South Carolina, company, sponsored the Danny Efland Racing Impala at Darlington, where Danny brought the car home in a respectable 26th place.

C3i Sports creates computerized systems for tracking performance, conditioning, and progress of professional athletes.

Company CEO Kevin Yates said, "Darlington was a great experience for my company with Danny and his crew garnering much publicity. I never fully realized what great athletes these racecar drivers and team members are and how much endurance they must have. Our guests were equally impressed, particularly an NFL team strength coach. I even had inquiries about our product from race teams. We look forward to working with Danny again."

Danny Efland is a former WKA Vega Speedway Pavement Series racer. Efland won a Triple Crown championship in 1999 before moving up the racing ladder. He now owns Danny Efland Racing and competes in the NASCAR Nationwide Series.

-source: wka

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart
Drivers Kevin Colborn , Danny Efland , Beth Chryst