Path Valley season ender results 2004-10-23

Path Valley Lyter, Comp and Shank Top Path Valley Karters Spring Run, PA_ Lap after lap Amber Lyter came out of turn one or two in the high groove and Chris Spangler or Geremey Sheaffer would dive inside her ...

Path Valley Lyter, Comp and Shank Top Path Valley Karters

Spring Run, PA_ Lap after lap Amber Lyter came out of turn one or two in the high groove and Chris Spangler or Geremey Sheaffer would dive inside her #34 Al's Kart Supply boxstock Lite for the lead. But each lap she would cut inside them to recapture the lead going into turn three or out of turn four.

The young lady from Landisburg beat out 20 other racers in the Lites to win her feature the Burris Karts Season Finale Saturday night at the Path Valley Speedway Park. The no-points season end offered karters the only chance of the season to race on the soft, tacky Path Valley clay.

Matching speed with control on the sticky clay, Corey Comp of Elliottsburg led most of the 25 laps for classes with 12 or more karts to win in the Medium class. Geremey Sheaffer took second with Chris Spangler third. With at least four lead changes, Tim Snyder won the Extra Heavy feature just ahead of Chantz Crissman and Brent Miller.

Trevin Shank of Chambersburg said he found the middle groove smoothest as he outran the Sr. Champ field of caged karts. Four of the front five collided out of turn four half way through the feature, but all restarted to challenge Shank's sprint to the checkers.

The season for four-wheelers also concluded with Dane Delancey of Port Royal in victory lane in both two-stroke and four-stroke quads. He is the season points champion in both classes.

Entries in the senior classes far outnumbered the riders under 16, but in Jr. Sportsman I Derek Sheaffer showed how he won the season points title as he charged to another win. Sanctioned by the Burris National Speedway Series, Path Valley is a Burris SpecTrak and will honor the season points champions at the annual awards banquet Nov. 20 at the Pleasant Hall Firehall.

About 50 banquet tickets remained after the Karts Finale. Awards to the top karters start at 4:30, followed by dinner and then sprint, bike and stock car awards, followed by dancing. The top karters in each class will be recognized in an awards program before the banquet, separate from the post-banquet awards for sprint and stock car drivers.

Dodies will again cater the meal, and DJ Phantom Shadow will provide the post-awards dancing and celebration. Doors open at 4 p.m. with the karts awards starting at 4:30 and the buffet dinner at 5:30. The separate awards program for bikes, sprints and stock cars is to start at 7 p.m. and the deadline for tickets is Oct. 31.

Those who cannot pick up tickets at the track can receive theirs with payment instructions from Two Wheel Promotions at 717-426-2910 or Only drivers who have purchased a ticket will receive trophies and awards.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route 641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike. The new phone number at the track is 717-349-7111.

For information on the schedule and rules, race teams and fans can consult the track's website at or they can email Two Wheel Promotions at


Lites -- Amber Lyter, Chris Spangler, Geremey Sheaffer, Cody Sieber, Derrick Treece, Cory Comp, Shawn Lyter, Doug Letterman, Ryan Smith, Kory Graham, Miranda Perrin, Chad Hack, Jason Weiss, Quentin Graham, Tyler Bear, DNW Geoff Gill, Leslie Lucas, Zach Newlin, Joey Ulsh, Ryan Spangler, Bryan Hayberger.

Heavy -- Scott Lehman, Brad Thomas, Bob Warsing, DNW Steve John.

Jr. Sportsman I -- Derek Sheaffer, Brandon Demochick, Matthew Mellott, Andrew Henson.

Medium -- Cory Comp, Geremey Sheaffer, Chris Spangler, Kevin Shaeffer, Bud Varner, Ryan Smith, Brent Hoffman, Bob Bupp, Kory Graham, Quentin Graham, DNW John Shaeffer, Ron Michaels, Ryan Spangler, Brian Grove, Scott Reeder.

X-Heavy -- Tim Snyder, Chantz Crissman, Brent Miller, Miles Burd, Steve Eshelman, Jamie Fink, Doug Lucas, Chad Young, John Hartman, Kevin O'Hara, DQ Don Miller.

Kids Karts -- Colton Reider.

Jr. Stock -- Dustin Wagner, Dylan Cisney, Matthew Burd, Lana Newlin.

Jr. Sportsman II -- Dylan Proctor, Ryan Laye.

Sr. Champ -- Trevin Shank, Bryan Hayberger, Craig Shaeffer, Pete Neuder, DNS Aaron Neuder; 33 Trent Brenneman

Jr. Restricted -- Nathan Danner, Troy Cunningham, Cody Sieber.

4-Wheel 4-Stroke -- Dane Delancey, Matt Dice, Doug Holland.

4-Wheel 2-Stroke -- Dane Delancey, Donnie Bollinger, DNS Matt Dice.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart
Drivers Ryan Spencer-Smith , Steve J