Hiltbrand takes OK European title, Kenneally Junior champion

20-year-old Spaniard Pedro Hiltbrand became the 2016 CIK-FIA European OK champion after finishing second in the last round at Genk, which was won by Clement Novalak.

Hiltbrand takes OK European title, Kenneally Junior champion
Listen to this article

Starting first ahead of Novalak and CRG teammate Tom Joyner, who was only three points behind in the standings, Hiltbrand was the early leader with Novalak dropping to sixth, giving Joyner second.

After initially pulling away, Joyner quickly closed in on Hiltbrand and spent the first half of the race shadowing him.

However, unable to pass, he found himself demoted by the recovering Novalak as well as Alexander Smolyar.

Two laps after his move, Novalak went past Hiltbrand as well and stretched his advantage to 1.7s as he cruised to the finish.

Hiltbrand took second closely followed by Smolyar and Joyner with Hannes Janker bringing a third CRG kart into the top five.

Karol Basz, another title contender prior to the event, had an engine failure in his pre-final and failed to take part in the main race.

Hiltbrand ended up winning the series by 10 points from Joyner with Basz with top rookies Marta Garcia and Logan Sargeant making up the top five.

OK class top 10:

1  Clement Novalak Tony Kart Racing Team  
2  Pedro Hiltbrand CRG +1.767s 
 Alexander Smolyar Ward Racing  +2.191s 
 Tom Joyner CRG +2.483s
 Hannes Janker CRG  +4.076s
 Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer Tony Kart  +4.639s
 Lorenzo Travisanutto Ward Racing  +6.142s
 Ben Viscaal Privateer +6.703s
 Logan Sargeant Ricky Flynn Motorsport +7.585s
10   Emil Dose KSB-Racing Team  +10.334s 

Another win for Martins, Kenneally champion

While Frenchman Victor Martins took his second straight win in the OKJ category, it was Fin Kenneally taking the European Championship title.

Despite starting at the front of the grid, Martins temporarily dropped to fifth with Dennis Hauger taking over.

The CRG driver only led for two laps as Sami Taoufik was in first next and stayed there for most of the race.

However, Martins fought back to claim the victory with Taoufik also falling behind British duo Fin Kenneally and Teddy Wilson.

The former, only 13 points behind leader Noah Watt in the standings, took advantage of the Dane's low-key race of finishing 14th and became the champion.

Martins missed out on second by two points with Hauger, sixth in the race behind Ivan Shvetsov, and Taoufik completing the top five in the standings.

OKJ class top 10:

1  Victor Martins VDK Racing  
2  Fin Kenneally Ricky Flynn Motorsport +0.446s
 Teddy Wilson CRG  +0.635s
 Sami Taoufik Ricky Flynn Motorsport +1.265s
 Ivan Shvetsov Ward Racing +1.687s
 Dennis Hauger CRG +2.081s
 David Vidales Tony Kart +3.610s
 Ugo De Wilde Ecurie Hesbaye +3.668s
 Ilya Morozov Ward Racing +3.675s
10   Adam Eteki Privateer +4.071s

Ardigo claims KZ title with victory

Marco Ardigo added the CIK-FIA European Championship KZ title to his 2016 tally after triumphing in WSK Super Masters as well.

The Tony Kart driver spent the first half of the season behind Anthony Abbasse, timing an overtake on Lap 10.

Abbasse soon lost further places with Simo Puhakka jumping up to second.

The Finn put increasing pressure on Ardigo but failed to get ahead, settling for second.

The podium was completed by Puhakka's CRG teammate Paolo De Conto with the Sodi karts of Jeremy Iglesias and Abbasse making up the top 5.

Already the leader of the standings before the race, Ardigo claimed the title 13 and 18 points ahead of Patrik Hajek and Iglesias respectively.

KZ class top 10:

1  Marco Ardigo Tony Kart Racing Team  
2  Simo Puhakka CRG +0.432s
 Paolo De Conto CRG  +3.023s
 Jeremy Iglesias Privateer +4.912s
 Anthony Abbasse Sodikart +5.458s
 Davide Fore Gold Kart Racing Team +7.110s
 Patrik Hajek Kosmic Racing +7.224s
 Jordon Lennox-Lamb Birel ART  +7.393s
 Rick Dreezen Ricciardo Kart Racing +8.111s
10   Gary Carlton Formula K Racing Team +8.586s

Vigano victorious in KZ2, Federer champion despite retirement

Matteo Vigano converted his pole position into a victory in the KZ2 race but it Fabian Federer was claiming his second European Championship KZ2 title.

Despite losing out to Leonardo Lorandi at the start, Vigano recovered on Lap 4 and led the rest of the race.

Although KSM Schumacher Racing's John Norris shadowed him for most of the race, the gap was eventually stretched to over a second.

Lorandi crossed the line in third but received a 10-second penalty for ignoring yellow flags, handing Paolo Besancenez the final podium position.

CRG Holland's and Solgat Motorsport's Stan Pex and Andre Matisic finish fourth and fifth respectively.

Despite retiring in the pre-final and as such not taking part in the final, Federer managed to stay in front in the standings.

KZ2 class top 10:

1  Matteo Vigano Comer  
 John Norris KSM Schumacher Racing  +1.185s 
 Paolo Besancenez Cedric Goudant +5.664s
 Stan Pex CRG Holland +7.025s
 Andre Matisic Solgat Motorsport  +7.317s 
 Alessandro Irlando Energy Corse +7.861s
 Felice Tiene CRG  +8.358s 
 Maximilian Paul DR  +10.838s
 Dominik Schmidt TB Motorsport  +11.006s
10   Michelangelo Amendola Parolin Racing Kart


Mazda Road to Indy Driver Advancement Program announced for 2016
Previous article

Mazda Road to Indy Driver Advancement Program announced for 2016

Next article

Askew and Craig to battle for their second US National Rotax Championship

Askew and Craig to battle for their second US National Rotax Championship
Load comments