Greenwood Valley Action Track 1999-06-26

From Victory Lane at Greenwood Valley . . . . by Than Mitchell June 26,1999 Eric Heydenreich's ...

From Victory Lane at Greenwood Valley . . . . by Than Mitchell

June 26,1999

Eric Heydenreich's # 91 King Chassis Micro Sprint should carry the logo of the brand of soup he's been eating recently as he powered his way to victory in the Micro Sprint Feature at The Greenwood Valley Action Track. In Victory Lane, Heydenreich said he felt "uncomfortable" as a result of dental surgery several days ago, but the liquid diet and his Wes Gilbert engine allowed the Bloomsburg resident to eat up the competition and bring home a well earned victory. Making the victory more special for Heydenreich was the presence, at The Action Track, of his grandparents.

Joe Bednarski of Wyoming, PA, managed to pass Blane Heimbach, Selinsgrove, in the last corner to grab second, assuring himself, along with Heydenreich, of a starting position in next week's 10th Annual Fire Cracker 500. Following third place finisher Heimbach was Jeff Furlong, also of Selinsgrove, followed by Neil Petock, Bloomsburg, and Eric Perchak, who lives in Hazelton. Nyle Berkes, Berwick, was seventh, Brad McClelland was eighth, Nescopeck's Brian Kishbaugh was ninth, while Rick Tanner filled in the tenth spot.

Last week Ashley Parlett, who travels to The Greenwood Valley Action Track from Wye Mills, Maryland, was in a frightening flip in corner one, leaving the track the hard way and ending up behind the pine trees against the fence in The Action Track parking lot. Unhurt and undaunted, she returned Saturday, won the pole for the Rookie Micro Sprint Feature, and then led the field from flag to flag. Demonstrating the skills of a seasoned driver, sixteen-year-old Parlett acknowledged all of her sponsors and supporters in her Victory Lane interview and closed by saying the win was for all women with dreams. The audience reaction was an indication that they approved.

Scott Lawrence, who also makes a long drive each weekend from Conklin, New York, took second place while Mike Keppler of Bechtelsville was third. Glen Walp, Wapwallopen, came in fourth, Jay Horvath was fifth, and Jason Wagner was sixth. Eric Eckert from Bristol was seventh and Bob Bogart, Wapwallopen, managed an eighth. Spots nine and ten were taken by Dan Kanagy, Thompsontown, and Lee Benjamin who lives in Berwick.

One of the biggest races of the '99 season at The Greenwood Valley Action Track takes the checkered flag on July 3rd with a purse that includes $800 to win. Gates at the track will open at noon, and warm-ups will get under way at 4:30, an hour earlier than usual. There will be a complete racing show along with special Micro Sprint race. An added feature will be a "Motor Race" for one class of karts where a racing engine will be given to a lucky competitor.

Be part of the fun for the Independence Day weekend at The Greenwood Valley Action Track located 3 miles east of Millville just south of route 254. Comfortable grandstands, great food, and top-notch dirt track racing makes for a family adventure at The Action Track.

Results, June 26, 1999

Lite Karts 1. Jason Koch, Lewisburg 2. Kevin Kratzer 3. Ken Duke, Selinsgrove

Rookie Karts (caged) 1. Skippy Blyler, Klingerstown 2. Brett Gordner, Orangeville 3. Shane Balliet, Freeland

Adult Kart (caged) 375 1. John Uhrin, Freeland 2. Rochelle Miller, Sunbury 3. Chris Badger, Lewisburg

Adult Kart (caged) 410 1. Jason Kemp, Bloomsburg 2. Joel Thomas, Bloomsburg 3. Ross Perchak, Hazelton

Junior Karts (caged) 1. Adam Zimmerman, Middleburg 2. Kevin Mull, Middleburg 3. Kyle Glass, Selinsgrove

Medium Karts 1. Kirk Ritter 2. Nip Loss, Penns Creek 3. Cliff Loss, Penns Creek

Heavy Karts 1. Chuck Paige, Middleburg 2. Dave Hoy 3. Jim Ferry, Liverpool

Extra Heavy Karts 1. Doug Landis, Liverpool 2. Eddy Miller, Sunbury 3. Nathan Weikel

Micro Sprints 250cc 1. Eric Heydenreich, Bloomsburg 2. Joe Bednarski, Wyoming 3. Blane Heimbach, Selinsgrove 4. Jeff Furlong, Selinsgrove 5. Neil Petock, Bloomsburg 6. Eric Perchak, Hazelton 7. Nyle Berkes, Berwick 8. Brad Mcclelland 9. Brian Kishbauch, Nescopeck 10. Rick Tanner

Rookie Micro Sprint 250cc 1. Ashley Parlett, Wye Mills, MD 2. Scott Lawrence, Conklin, NY 3. Mike Keppler, Bechtelsville 4. Glen Walp, Wapwallopen 5. Jay Horvath 6. Jason Wagner 7. Eric Eckert, Bristol 8. Bob Bogart, Wapwallopen 9. Dan Kanagy, Thompsontown 10. Lee Benjamin, Berwick

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart