Donison, Gowda and Mohsin crowned karting champions

The 12th season of JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship came to an end after the season finale at Meco Kartopia in Bangalore where champions of three categories were decided.

The Senior Max category saw Bangalore's Ricky Donison (BPC Racing) declared the overall champion having notched up the maximum number of wins and pole positions in the five rounds of the season.

Throughout the season, Donison was challenged by the likes of Vishnu Prasad (Meco Racing), Nayan Chatterjee (Rayo Racing), Ameya Bafna (Rayo Racing) and Dhruv Mohite (Mohites Racing) but the young Indian took it all and clinched the title at ease.

In the Junior Max category, Bangalore's Akash Gowda (Meco Racing) won the championship, as he beat challengers Nirmal Umashankar (Meco Racing), Mohammad Nallwalla (Rayo Racing) and Mira Erda (Erda Racing).

Umashankar and Ruhan Alva won the Akbar Ebrahim trophy of Most Improved Driver of the year while Erda won the award for Most Promising Female driver of the year in a ceremony held in Bangalore after the final round.

In the Micro Max category, Agra's Shahan Ali Mohsin (Meco Racing) took the title, beating challengers Nikhil Bora (Meco Racing), Chirag Ghorpade (BPC Racing) and Alva (BPC Racing).

Mohsin was also awarded the Best Driver of the year trophy while Mohd Zain Ali won the Best Newcomer award in the glittering season end ceremony.

The overall champion of the Junior & Senior Max will now compete in the World Karting finals to be held in Portugal later this year.

The top three overall champions in the Junior & Senior Max category will drive in the JKFB02 cars in the JK Tyre Racing Championship 2016.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart
Event JK Tyre: Bangalore
Track Meco Kartopia
Article type Breaking news