CIK: AUS: Round three summary

Ashley Walsh, Bart Price and Daniel Elliott picked up where they left off today in their respective classes at round three of the 2004 Sparco CIK Australian Karting Championships, while the third different winner in three rounds was crowned in ...

Ashley Walsh, Bart Price and Daniel Elliott picked up where they left off today in their respective classes at round three of the 2004 Sparco CIK Australian Karting Championships, while the third different winner in three rounds was crowned in Dunlop Junior Intercontinental A, when Jake Williams took his first CIK win for Trulli.

Dunlop Formula A was taken out by Daniel Elliott, his third consecutive victory in the class this year, after Barclay Holden was caught up in a variety of incidents early on in the race. Holden, having taken out the pre-final, fought back galliantly to get into second placing. Mid race, it looked as though he was beginning to close the gap, however, Elliott put in his now customary fast mid race laps in the Pieper Motorsport Birel, Holden deciding to preserve his points advantage in second.

Matthew Muller, driving for PCR, put in an outstanding effort to work over Jason Hryniuk and take third placing, his best effort in Dunlop Formula A this season. The North Queenslander, having qualified exceptionally, had a bad run through the heats and pre-final, but made amends in the final. CRG's Hryniuk scored one of his best finishes of the season in fourth.

Matthew Wall and William Thomason had a race long battle, which was ultimately decided in favour of Thomason, the Redspeed driving New Zealander outlasting Wall, who pulled out with a flat tyre. Mitchell Cunningham was another late race casualty, throwing a chain from his CRG.

Glenn Powles and Jason Burns both seized engines, Powles on the main straight at the start, Burns a couple of laps later whilst in the lead.

Dunlop Junior Intercontinental A saw Jake Williams take maximum points, the move from Redspeed to Trulli paying dividends for the Sydney-sider. Current Australian Champion, Kristian Lindbom had the best of the early running, before Williams took the lead with 18 laps left remaining.

Putting in a sterling effort was Pieper Motorsport Birel's Daniel Ricciardo. The West Australian had an awesome start and slotted himself into third position, which he held through to the end, his best effort of the season.

South Australian Trulli driver, Paul Pittam, put in his best performance of the year, taking fourth, the Trulli set up to perfection. Top Kart's Amrit Kandola came from the back of the pack to finish in fifth, whilst New Zealand Kosmic driver, Earl Bamber, put in a great effort, finishing in sixth position. Bamber was pushed the entire way by Kandola, who made the decisive move several laps from home. Deepal Kandola lost a chain from his Top Kart prior to the start of the final, however re-attached it, only to have it come adrift soon after. Current Championship leader, Joshua Scott, had his worst round to date, coming home seventh, after losing a tyre midway through the pre-final. Scott was complaining of a lack of horsepower from his Parilla motors.

Motor Quality Intercontinental A was again an Ashley Walsh and Trulli kart benefit, Walsh taking an easy victory over Paul Laskazeski and local driver, Tim Ball, in the Trulli having his best run of the season.

Ball was involved in a race long battle with fellow Trulli pilots, James Mann and John Martin. Martin, who made a return to Trulli for this round, put in an unbelievable performance throughout the weekend, the only blemish a coming together with Mann during heat three.

Putting in a herculian performance was Phill Lucas. The PCR pilot had a race long battle with Leah Unsworth, getting past the Trulli driver with a matter of laps to go, who unfortunately pulled out three laps from home having spat a chain.

Lucas was involved in an incident in the pre-final which saw him suffer a knee injury, however it wasn't serious enough to keep him out of the final. Chris Goodman, who he came together with, suffered a huge engine seize at 130 kilometres per hour at the end of the main straightaway during the final.

Vega Tyres Intercontinental C saw Bart Price continue on with his form of the previous two rounds, however he didn't have it all his own way, JT Team Arrow team-mate, Scott Harrison put in his best ever CIK performance, taking the pre-final after Price suffered a mechanical problem at the start and leading the majority of the final, until Price got past him, he looked as though he would be on for a second placing, until he seized an engine a few laps from home.

This allowed Joshua Pontello and BRM driver, Kyle Woods into podium positions. The two battled strongly until the final lap, when they came together with half a lap to go, Pontello tearing a tyre and axle assembly from the kart, however being awarded third position due to Tom Williamson being forced from the track due to being lapped by Price after an earlier spin.

Blake Varney was unable to start the final, the round one third place man looked quite fast all day, however a gear selection problem in the pre-final carried through to the final and he was unable to start.

The next round of the 2004 Sparco Australian CIK Karting Championships will be held at Lincoln County Raceway in Dubbo, New South Wales across the weekend of August 20-22.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart
Drivers Tom Williams , John Martin , Earl Bamber , Blake Varney , Kristian Lindbom , Jake Williams
Teams Williams