AUS: AKA Formula 100 nationals summary

SERA AND WALL WIN AT FORMULA 100 NATIONALS Hughes and Nelson prove too good in Leopard Challenge Final Victorians David Sera and Matthew Wall have once again proved why they are considered two of the best Australian karters of all time with a...


Hughes and Nelson prove too good in Leopard Challenge Final

Victorians David Sera and Matthew Wall have once again proved why they are considered two of the best Australian karters of all time with a pair of scintillating victories at the Formula 100 Nationals in Melbourne today.

Sera proved too good for his opposition in the Formula 100 Light category, that uses engines similar to those used in Europe by the likes of Formula One World Champions Jensen Button and Lewis Hamilton during their karting careers, to add another National Championship to his long list of achievements.

Today's victory by Sera moves him equal with Ford Performance Racing V8 Supercar driver Mark Winterbottom, who was trackside to witness the action, on ten National Championships in the Australian karting record books.

"After qualifying on pole position at this event for the past two years it is great to finally break through and win the Nationals Championship in Formula 100," said Sera, who has now won three Australian Championships in 2009 for the Arrow Karts team.

"Today's win certainly ticks another box that I've wanted to tick in my karting career, now I'm going to be setting my sights on the KZ2 Championship in 2010."

Behind Sera came 2008 Champion Adam Hughes. The Mentone (Victoria) resident pulled clear of an intense battle between Tyler Greenbury, Hayden McBride and Daniel Richert for third place mid race. McBride, who started from the back of the field, was able to snare the final spot on the podium.

In the Formula 100 Heavy category Wall was the dominant driver all weekend, however, a broken water pump nearly put an end to his campaign mid-way through the final. Luckily Wall had a large gap over the rest of the field and he was able to conserve his engine to nurse his J&A Tuning powered machine home and claim a deserved victory.

Wall's win is the seventh National crown by a J&A Tuning powered driver in 2009.

"Any green plate is nice, my goal this year was to win the Clubman Heavy title at the Nationals in Townsville, now I've been fortunate enough to win in Clubman, Rotax and Formula 100 all in the same year," said Wall.

"We changed engines for the final, saving our best for last, but unfortunately the water pump came off mid way through the race. Luckily I had built up enough of a lead and was able to back off and conserve the engine to get to the end."

Ironically, Brad Fitch, who was chasing Wall's ailing kart home for second, seized on the second-last lap. The demise of Firtch allowed Victorian Matthew Mills to claim second place in his First Kart ahead of Bobby Bourke.

In the Leopard Challenge Final it was Adam Hughes who proved too good aboard his Kosmic Kart in Leopard Light. James Sera continued his good showing of speed aboard an Azzurro kart during qualifying but it was Hughes who proved too good throughout the racing to take the win.

Tyler Greenbury finished second ahead of Sera.

Rick Pringle led away in a frantic start of the Leopard Heavy final but Brendan Nelson always looked threatening and eventually took the lead and while Pringle continued to shadow him, the Toowoomba driver was too strong. Newcastle's Simon Roberts won out a tight battle with Fitch for third.

Along with the impressive list of prizes that was handed out to the placegetters in the Leopard Challenge Final Adam Wilson, who is in his first year of racing the Leopard category, won a Toyota Yaris in the random prize draw.

In the KZ2 class it was the international visitors who proved too good with Ryan Grant claiming the win ahead of Scottish driver Daniel Borton.

Grant was the class of the field, but could not pull away from the pack in the final. While Grant held the lead, Price, Borton and Graeme Smyth fought for second. When Price passed Smyth down the inside at Turn 1 for second, the two touched on the exit of the corner and Smyth spun off, giving Borton second and leaving Price to recover for third.

Troy Woolston put in a strong performance for fourth while Jace Lindstrom drove from the back of the 25-kart field to storm up the order to fifth.

Following his win Grant indicated that he'd love to come back to Australian on a regular basis throughout 2010.

"We'd love to come over for a (KZ2) series next year and for sure, I think 8 or 9 of us (Kiwis) would come. I love this track and this has been a great event," said Grant.

Dominic Albanese won the 200 Super category which incorporated a variety of twin water-cooled and air-cooled Reed valve engines and even some Twin Clubmans. Mitchell Evans finished second ahead of Trent Palmer.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Kart
Drivers Lewis Hamilton , Mark Winterbottom , Brendan Nelson , Graeme Smyth