IROC at Indy: Fast Facts

IROC at Indy FAST FACTS WHAT: TRUE VALUE INTERNATIONAL RACE OF CHAMPIONS Fourth and final round of 1999 series Second IROC race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway WHERE: ...


WHAT: TRUE VALUE INTERNATIONAL RACE OF CHAMPIONS Fourth and final round of 1999 series Second IROC race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway WHERE: Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2.5-mile paved oval superspeedway WHEN: 4:45 p.m. (CDT) Friday, Aug. 6, 1999 DISTANCE: 100 miles/40 laps (Yellow-flag caution laps do not count)

RACE PURSE: $760,000, including $225,000 to series season champion CARS: Identically prepared IROC stock cars Goodyear Eagle radial tires; DuPont ChromaSystem paint

FIELD: 12 of the world's best race drivers representing the top series in the world. NASCAR Winston Cup: Jeff Burton, Dale Earnhardt, Jeff Gordon, Dale Jarrett, Bobby Labonte, Mark Martin, Rusty Wallace NASCAR Busch Series, Grand National Division: Dale Earnhardt Jr. Pep Boys Indy Racing League: Kenny Brack, Eddie Cheever Jr. FedEx Championship Series: Adrian Fernandez, Greg Moore

1999 POINTS LEADER: Dale Earnhardt 1998 IROC CHAMPION: Mark Martin 1998 IROC AT INDY Mark Martin

TV: (Race) ABC, 4:30 p.m. (EDT) Aug. 7 SCHEDULE (all times local): (Aug. 4) 7 a.m.: Garage opens 10 a.m.-4 p.m.: IROC practice (Aug. 5) 6 a.m.: Garage opens 8-9 a.m.: IROC practice 4:50-5:30 p.m.: IROC practice (Aug. 6) 7 a.m.: Garage opens 4:15 p.m.: IROC driver introductions 4:45 p.m.: IROC race (100 miles/40 laps) THE TRACK: 2.5-mile paved oval, with 36-inch strip of the original bricks at start-finish line Front and back straightaways: 5/8-mile each Short straightaways (between Turns 1-2 & 3-4): 1/8-mile each Four turns: 1/4-mile each Width of straightaways: 50 feet Width of turns: 60 feet Banking: 9 degrees, 12 minutes in all four turns

Facility opened in 1909. The Speedway is the largest sports seating facility, with more than 250,000 permanent seats. The track is the site of the annual Indianapolis 500 and the Brickyard 400.

THE RACE: This is the second IROC event at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Mark Martin won the inaugural IROC at Indy event in 1998. IROC cars opened the stock-car era at the track with a test session in 1992.

RACE NOTES: Seven-time NASCAR Winston Cup champion Dale Earnhardt will try to win his third IROC championship at this event. Earnhardt leads defending series champion Mark Martin, 68-48, after three of four rounds this season. Earnhardt also won IROC titles in 1990 and 1995. If two or more drivers are tied in points at the end of this race, the driver with the highest finishing position in the final race will earn the higher spot in the final standings. The 12 drivers in this event have six combined victories at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Kenny Brack and Eddie Cheever Jr. each have won the Indianapolis 500 once, while Jeff Gordon has two Brickyard 400 victories, and Dale Earnhardt and Dale Jarrett each have one Brickyard 400 victory. 1998 Indianapolis 500 champion Eddie Cheever Jr. is starting from the pole for this event. Al Unser Jr. was the last pole sitter to win an IROC race, taking the checkered flag in 1995 at Michigan Speedway from the top spot. The starting field is determined by inverting the point standings, so points leader Dale Earnhardt will start last for the third straight race. Dale Earnhardt can tie Al Unser Jr. for the most career victories in the IROC series with a victory at this event. Unser Jr. has 11 career IROC wins; Earnhardt has 10. SERIES NOTES: Dale Earnhardt has won all three IROC rounds this season: Feb. 12 at Daytona International Speedway, April 24 at Talladega Superspeedway and June 11 at Michigan Speedway. No driver has ever swept every IROC race in a season. The late Mark Donohue won three of four in the inaugural IROC championship in 1973-74, and Rusty Wallace won three of four in 1991. The late Mark Donohue won the inaugural IROC championship in 1973-74.

Six Indianapolis 500 winners also have captured the IROC championship: Mark Donohue, Bobby Unser, A.J. Foyt, Al Unser, Mario Andretti and Al Unser Jr. Dale Earnhardt and Ricky Rudd are past Brickyard 400 winners who also have captured an IROC championship.

Source: IRL/IMS

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IROC
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Jeff Burton , Jeff Gordon , Dale Jarrett , Bobby Labonte , Rusty Wallace , Eddie Cheever , Al Unser Jr. , Adrian Fernandez , Kenny Brack , Mario Andretti , Al Unser Sr. , Bobby Unser , Greg Moore , A.J. Foyt , Mark Donohue , Mark Martin