The Milwaukee Mile race report

West Allis, Wis. (June 5) - Scott Dixon (Powerware/PacWest Lola) went two-for-two in the 2000 Dayton Indy Lights Championship with a strong win Monday at the Milwaukee Mile. The second-year New Zealander, who also won the season-opening race...

West Allis, Wis. (June 5) - Scott Dixon (Powerware/PacWest Lola) went two-for-two in the 2000 Dayton Indy Lights Championship with a strong win Monday at the Milwaukee Mile. The second-year New Zealander, who also won the season-opening race in Long Beach in April, passed teammate Tony Renna (Motorola/PacWest Lola) on lap 35 of 100 and crossed the finish line a hefty 8.048 seconds ahead of rookie Jason Bright (Dorricott Racing Lola). Mario Dominguez (Herdez "Viva Mexico" Lola) finished third, his best finish since winning the season-opening race in Homestead, Florida last year.

Dixon won the pole in Saturday's qualifying (23.975 = 154.961 mph) but was outgunned by Renna at the start who charged from fourth on the grid to lead through the first two turns. The PacWest teammates pulled away from the field steadily before Dixon slipped by for the lead in Turn 3 on lap 35. Renna later retired with an oil leak which allowed Bright, who ran no lower than third all day, to take second. Chris Menninga (Mi-Jack Lola) briefly challenged Bright for second late in the race only to have Dominguez slip by for third place on lap 97. Menninga held on for a career-best fourth place finish while Casey Mears (Dorricott Racing/Sooner Trailer Lola) finished fifth for the second straight race.

Dixon's winning average speed of 116.058 mph was slowed by a pair of caution periods, the first of which was thrown for a heavy crash into the Turn 4 wall by Jonny Kane (KOOL Lola). Kane's KOOL Lola lost a rear wheel and the 1998 Rookie of the Year backed into the wall and the race car broke apart, coming to a rest on its side. Kane was unhurt but the race car was completely destroyed. The day's second caution came on the restart after the Kane caution period when rookie Todd Snyder ( Lola) also hit the Turn 4 wall. Snyder was uninjured.

Dixon has earned 42 of a possible 44 points available in the year's first two races and holds a 10 point lead in the championship over Bright who has earned his 32 points with second-place finishes in each of the year's first two races. Mears is third in the standings with 20.

Monday's race was run after the originally scheduled date on Sunday was rained out.

Scott Dixon (Powerware/PacWest Lights Lola) - "I was a bit slow at the start. Just sort of cruising behind Tony. I knew that my car was a lot better than his through turns one and two. We were pretty even through three and four. After awhile, I just sort of lined him up. One time, he went a little wide between one and two and I was able to get past. After that, I was able to get some clean air. The car was handling great and I then just had to deal with traffic until the end. I'm very happy. This is definitely a great way to start the season. We just have to try to keep the momentum rolling."

Jason Bright (Dorricott Racing Lola) - "We managed to make a gap behind me on Chris Menninga but the yellow flag late in the race let him catch up. We didn't have any cars between us so it ended up being a good race re-start. The field was accelerating pretty hard through three and four but I got a little sideways. Once I straightened out, Todd (Snyder) was in front of me. Then he spun around and slid high and wide."

Mario Dominguez (Herdez Quaker State Lola) - " I am very happy with this result. My car developed oversteer during the race, but that is all. I hope I will visit the winners circle more often during the season and of course, I will work hard to win in the future."

Dayton Tire Awards: Rodolfo Lavin receives four Dayton Daytona racing tires as the Move to the Front award recipient. Lavin improved five positions to finish eighth. Jason Bright receives two Dayton Daytona racing tires as the Dayton Rookie Award recipient. Scott Dixon receives two Dayton Daytona racing tires as the top qualifier.

MCI Worldcom Fast Pace Award: Scott Dixon receives the $1,000 MCI WorldCom Fast Pace Award for his fast lap of 151.480 mph (24.526 seconds) on lap 68.

Nation's Cup: New Zealand extends its lead in the Nation's Cup with 42 points, all earned by Scott Dixon. Australia is second with 32 points and USA is third with 22 points.

Racing for Kids Award: Scott Dixon wins the Racing for Kids Award of $500. An additional $1,500 will be presented to a local children's hospital in the Scott's name.

Bosch Platinum+4 Speedway Challenge: Scott Dixon takes an early lead in the Bosch Platinum+4 Speedway Challenge with 22 points, six points ahead of Jason Bright. The winner-take-all $10,000 Bosch award is paid to the driver that earns the most points in the year's five oval track races.


The Milwaukee Dayton Indy Lights Championship race will be shown on ESPN2 at a time to be determined.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indy Lights
Drivers Casey Mears , Scott Dixon , Chris Menninga , Mario Dominguez , Jonny Kane , Rodolfo Lavin , Tony Renna , Jason Bright , Todd Snyder