Team Pelfrey announces two-car Lights programme, buys 8Star

Team Pelfrey has announced its entry to the Indy Lights series in 2016, having bought the assets of 8Star Motorsports.

Team Pelfrey will field two cars in the 2016 Lights season, while maintaining its programmes on the lower levels of the Mazda Road to Indy ladder - Pro Mazda and USF2000, as well as F1600.

The squad took IndyCar racer Jack Hawksworth to the Mazda title in 2012 and has done the same for Uruguayan favorite Santiago Urrutia this year.

It also won the 2014 F1600 title with Norwegian racer Ayla Agren, while part-timer Jordan Cane won seven of the 16 F1600 races he contested with the team this year.

"After watching the development and success of our F1600, USF2000 and Pro Mazda teams this season, I decided Team Pelfrey should take the next step,” said Dale Pelfrey.

“Rather than start from ground zero, we researched the market and quickly realized that absorbing the great people and resources at 8Star Motorsports was the best way possible to enter Indy Lights with Team Pelfrey

"We will be entering the 2016 season with an already proven race winning package and cannot wait to get started.”

Despite not managing to field a full-time entry in 2015, 8Star managed a brilliant partial campaign with Sean Rayhall, who took two victories.

Gary Neal, who served as the team manager for 8Star, will continue in the role after the buyout.

"I am really excited to have the opportunity to build the Indy Lights team with Team Pelfrey,” said Neal.

“Since my engineer, Yves Touron, and mechanics are staying in place with the new team I am sure we will be a contender for the Indy Lights Championship in 2016. It is a pleasure to work with such a passionate team owner as Dale Pelfrey.”

The merger could signify an official end to 8Star's tenure as a sportscar team as it appears to have re-focused fully on open-wheel racing.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indy Lights
Teams 8Star Motorsports
Article type Breaking news