Bell, Mears finalists for Greg Moore Award

SUNNYVALE, Calif. (Oct. 9, 2000) - - Five finalists have been named for the inaugural Greg Moore Legacy Award and two of those finalists drive for Dorricott Racing. Townsend Bell, of Costa Mesa, Calif., and Casey Mears, of Bakersfield, ...

SUNNYVALE, Calif. (Oct. 9, 2000) - - Five finalists have been named for the inaugural Greg Moore Legacy Award and two of those finalists drive for Dorricott Racing. Townsend Bell, of Costa Mesa, Calif., and Casey Mears, of Bakersfield, Calif., are among an elite group of nominees that includes FedEx Championship Series stand-outs Helio Castroneves and Roberto Moreno, and Andrew Bordin of the Toyota Atlantic Championship.

The award honors the Canadian star who lost his life in the 1999 season finale at California Speedway. It aims to recognize a current driver who best exemplifies Moore's legacy of noteworthy ability on the track as well as displaying dynamic interaction and relationships with fans, media, and throughout the CART community. The winner will be announced at the CART FedEx Championship Series Awards Banquet on Monday, Oct. 30, at the Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles.

Bell, who is currently second place in the Dayton Indy Light Championship, is only four points out of first place with one race remaining, 134-130. Bell's eye-opening rookie season includes two wins and two poles in 11 starts. He has only failed to finish in the points twice this season.

The 25-year-old southern Californian laced together a mid-season string of five consecutive top-four finishes dating back to round four at Portland where he won the pole and finished second place. Portland was followed by fourth place at Michigan, second place at Chicago, and a memorable career-first Indy Lights victory at Mid-Ohio. Bell didn't slow down at Vancouver either where he finished fourth place after starting fifth in the DirecPC Lola.

Bell then propelled himself into the Indy Lights championship spot light with a flag-to-flag victory at Gateway Internal Raceway in round 10 before clinching Indy Lights Rookie of the Year honors with his second place finish at Houston in round 11 of the 12-race series.

"I never met Greg but I admired his driving style," said Bell. " His 1998 Homestead qualifying performance really made an impression. I'm honored to be considered for an award bearing his name."

Mears, the 22-year-old son of former Off-Road World champion Roger Mears and nephew of four-time Indianapolis 500 champion Rick Mears, is only five points off the Indy Lights championship lead with 129 points. His second career Indy Lights pole and subsequent first career Indy Lights victory at Houston in round 11 has accentuated an already fruitful season.

Mears re-ignited his Indy Lights title hopes at Laguna Seca in round nine when he won the pole and finished second place in the Dorricott Racing/Sooner Trailer Lola. He repeated a podium visit for second place at Gateway one race later. His eight top-five finishes this year include third place at Detroit, second place at Michigan International Speedway, and a triplet of fifth place finishes at Long Beach, Milwaukee, and Mid-Ohio. Furthermore, Mears has finished more laps than any other Indy Lights driver this season with 585 completed laps out of a possible 589 to date.

"I am extremely pleased that Casey and Townsend have both been nominated for this prestigious award," said Dorricott Racing owner Bob Dorricott. "Both of these young men exemplify the outstanding driving talent and people skills that became a trademark of Greg. It has been a pleasure to have both of these candidates on our team this year."

Five nominees are chosen from the CART FedEx Championship Series, Dayton Indy Lights, and Toyota Atlantic. There is a minimum of one driver from each series represented for the award.

The voting committee consists of the three series presidents, Bobby Rahal of the FedEx Championship, Roger Bailey of Dayton Indy Lights, and Vicki O'Connor of Toyota Atlantic; Player's Forsythe Racing owner Gerald Forsythe; Bob Bexon, President and CEO of Imperial Tobacco Canada Ltd.; Championship Drivers Association President Mauricio Gugelmin; former CART Chief Steward Wally Dallenbach; and two annually rotating members of the media, one representing the print side and the other broadcast. This year's media voters are Robin Miller, of the Indianapolis Star, and Paul Page, of ABC-TV.

Moore, the 24-year-old from Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada, made his initial racing impact in Indy Lights where he re-wrote Indy Lights records in capturing the 1995 Indy Lights championship. He registered a record 10 victories, including five in a row, and seven poles in 12 events. Moore spent three seasons in Indy Lights (1993-95) and left the series as its career leader in wins with 13.

Moore joined the FedEx Championship ranks in 1996 with Player's Forsythe Racing and recorded five wins and five poles in his four year career. He became the youngest driver to win a Champ car event when he scored his first career win at Milwaukee at age 22. He finished among the top-10 in each of his four seasons including a career-best fifth place in 1998.

Moore's Champ Car No. 99 was retired by CART, Dayton Indy Lights, and Toyota Atlantic in November 1999 to honor his memory.

Dorricott Racing is a year-round professional motorsports organization.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indy Lights
Drivers Wally Dallenbach Sr. , Helio Castroneves , Mauricio Gugelmin , Townsend Bell , Rick Mears , Andrew Bordin , Roger Bailey , Greg Moore , Robin Miller