Will Power takes hard fought win in St. Pete

Look who took the win in the IndyCar season opener.

Will Power drove to victory in a hard-fought street fight in the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, the opening race of the Verizon IndyCar Series season.

The Aussie past pole winner Takuma Sato on the 33rd of 110 laps and wasn’t to be denied after that as he dominated from then on, to gain his 22nd career victory and second triumph on the 1.8-mile street course.

His margin of victory was 1.9475 seconds.

Ryan Hunter-Reay finished second and he was followed by Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon.

Simon Pagenaud earned fifth place.

Sixth through 10th were Tony Kanaan, Sato, Justin Wilson, Josef Newgarden and Ryan Briscoe.

Results Sunday of the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Verizon IndyCar Series event on the 1.8-mile St Petersburg Street Circuit, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (4) Will Power, Dallara-Chevy, 110, Running
2. (3) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
3. (10) Helio Castroneves, Dallara-Chevy, 110, Running
4. (5) Scott Dixon, Dallara-Chevy, 110, Running
5. (14) Simon Pagenaud, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
6. (2) Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Chevy, 110, Running
7. (1) Takuma Sato, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
8. (16) Justin Wilson, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
9. (22) Josef Newgarden, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
10. (9) Ryan Briscoe, Dallara-Chevy, 110, Running
11. (11) Sebastian Saavedra, Dallara-Chevy, 110, Running
12. (15) Mikhail Aleshin, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
13. (13) Sebastien Bourdais, Dallara-Chevy, 110, Running
14. (21) Graham Rahal, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
15. (18) Juan Pablo Montoya, Dallara-Chevy, 110, Running
16. (12) Mike Conway, Dallara-Chevy, 110, Running
17. (7) Carlos Munoz, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
18. (17) Carlos Huertas, Dallara-Honda, 110, Running
19. (19) James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Honda, 109, Running
20. (20) Charlie Kimball, Dallara-Chevy, 108, Running
21. (8) Jack Hawksworth, Dallara-Honda, 83, Contact
22. (6) Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 82, Contact

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Juan Pablo Montoya
Article type Race report
Tags castroneves, championship, chevrolet, firestone, hunter-reay, indycar, long beach, st. pete, will power