Will Power picks up a $1 million bonus at IndyCar Championship Celebration

'Still sinking in,' says Power.

Less than 24 hours after winning the Verizon IndyCar Series championship, Will Power got his chance to celebrate. 

Power - along with other drivers, teams and manufacturers - were recognized during the INDYCAR Championship Celebration at Club Nokia at the LA Live entertainment complex in downtown Los Angeles. 

Mark Miles, CEO of Hulman & Co., the parent of IndyCar, presented Power and team owner Roger Penske with a $1 million championship bonus check and replicas of the Astor Challenge Cup, the Verizon IndyCar Series championship trophy. 

"It's still sinking in really," said Power, a first-time series champion. "When you want something so bad for so long, it's such a relief when you finally get it. It's exactly that - a culmination of 15 years of hard work to get to this point." 

In addition to the championship bonus, Power accepted the Jostens Champions Award, a ring valued at $10,000. He also won the Sunoco Diamond Performance Award and its $75,000 prize for winning the most races and the Verizon P1 Award for scoring the most points among pole winners. 

Power's chief mechanic gets award

Matt Jonnson, chief mechanic for Power's No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, accepted the Verizon IndyCar Series Chief Mechanic of the Year Award. Jon Bouslog of Team Penske accepted the Team Manager of the Year Award. 

Carlos Munoz of Andretti Autosport - HVM accepted the $50,000 Verizon IndyCar Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award, while Jack Hawksworth won the Tony Renna Rising Star Award.  

Charlie Kimball claimed the $25,000 TAG Heuer "Don't Crack Under Pressure" Award for advancing the most cumulative places during the season. Juan Pablo Montoya was voted favorite driver by Verizon IndyCar Series fans.

Jim Campbell, Chevrolet's vice president of performance vehicles and motorsports, accepted the manufacturer's award on behalf of Chevrolet.  

Helio Castroneves of Team Penske was honored as the second-place finisher in the championship while Scott Dixon of Target Chip Ganassi Racing was honored for finishing third. 

Verizon IndyCar Series award winners:

Championship driver (Astor Challenge Cup): Will Power

Jostens Championship Driver Award (ring): Will Power

Championship team (Astor Challenge Cup): Verizon Team Penske

Championship team sponsors: Verizon

Championship team manager: Jon Bouslog

Chief Mechanic of the Year Award: Matt Jonnson

Sunoco Diamond Performance Award ($75,000): Will Power

Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award ($50,000): Carlos Munoz

TAG Heuer "Don't Crack Under Pressure" Award ($25,000): Charlie Kimball

Second place championship driver: Helio Castroneves

Second place championship team: Team Penske

Third place championship driver: Scott Dixon

Third place championship team: Target Chip Ganassi Racing

Tony Renna Rising Star Award: Jack Hawksworth

Verizon P1 Award: Will Power

Manufacturers Championship: Chevrolet

Dan and Susie Wheldon "Make a Difference" Award ($1,000 charitable donation): Susie Wheldon

Verizon IndyCar Series Fan Favorite Driver: Juan Pablo Montoya


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Juan Pablo Montoya
Teams Andretti Autosport , Team Penske , Chip Ganassi Racing
Article type Press conference
Tags mark miles, team penske