Will Power earns GP of Indy pole as Chevrolet fills top 10

Chevrolet continues to enjoy a noticeable edge over Honda on both IndyCar road and street courses.

Will Power broke the GP of Indy track record on his way to securing pole position for the race, laying down a lap of 1:09.4886 (126.357mph). This stands as his 39th career pole and second of the 2015 season.

"Just really happy to be on pole," said the pole man. "Qualifying's a day where you put absolutely everything on the line.  It's my favorite part of the weekend.  Well, no, actually it's winning on Saturday or Sunday is definitely my favorite part."

"Actually surprised me on old tires there in the Fast Six, the time that I laid down," said the pole man. "It just shows the team has done a great job with the car.  All teammates in the Fast Six, too.  We're pushing each other hard.  Got the Ganassi boys there knocking on the door all the time.  Got our work cut out for us."

The Team Penske quartet all placed inside the top five, split up by Chip Ganassi Racing's Scott Dixon in second. Castroneves and Montoya fill out row two with Pagenaud fifth. 

"We figure he's (Dixon) the main threat. He's been quick all weekend," admitted Power. "I don't even know what the time was at the end. I did everything I could on new tires, which wasn't very much faster than old tires. It was less than a tenth."

In an impressive show of strength, Chevrolet's took every single spot inside the top ten with Tony Kanaan, Sebastien Bourdais, Sebastian Saavedra (2014 pole-sitter), Luca Filippi, and Stefano Coletti rounding out the tp ten.

Jack Hawksworth was the best of the Honda drivers in 11th place for AJ Foyt, a full second adrift of the pole speed. No Chevrolet qualified lower than 15th as Francesco Dracone ended qualifying in last place (25th).

Close, but no cigar

At the end of the first round it was James Hinchcliffe (.07 away from advancement) and Charlie Kimball (.075 away from advancement) just missing out on the second part of the session.

As drivers fought for one of those coveted positions inside the 'Fast Six,' Dixon was able to displace Bourdais as the clock ran out, edging the Frenchman by .026. 

No major incidents took place in qualifying, although four drivers were investigated and later cleared of a possible infraction.

Qualifying results:

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Will Power Team Penske 1m09.4886
2 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 0.2270
3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske 0.2502
4 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske 0.3186
5 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske 0.3829
6 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing 0.7886
7 Sebastien Bourdais KV Racing Q2
8 Sebastian Saavedra Chip Ganassi Racing Q2
9 Luca Filippi CFH Racing Q2
10 Stefano Coletti KV Racing Q2
11 Jack Hawksworth A. J. Foyt Enterprises Q2
12 Josef Newgarden CFH Racing Q2
13 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Q1
14 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Q1
15 J.R. Hildebrand CFH Racing Q1
16 Gabby Chaves Bryan Herta Autosport Q1
17 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Q1
18 Justin Wilson Andretti Autosport Q1
19 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Q1
20 James Jakes Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Q1
21 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport Q1
22 Takuma Sato A. J. Foyt Enterprises Q1
23 Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Q1
24 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Q1
25 Francesco Dracone Dale Coyne Racing Q1


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event Grand Prix of Indy
Track Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Drivers Will Power
Article type Qualifying report
Tags chevrolet, honda, team penske