Watkins Glen: Dale Coyne race report

"We Win!" Signed, Justin Wilson and Dale Coyne Watkins Glen, NY (July 5, 2009) -- Dale Coyne Racing driver Justin Wilson driving the ...

"We Win!" Signed, Justin Wilson and Dale Coyne

Watkins Glen, NY (July 5, 2009) -- Dale Coyne Racing driver Justin Wilson driving the #18 Z-Line Designs/Sixth Avenue Electronics car won the Camping World Grand Prix today in a display of force that classed the field. Wilson passed Ryan Briscoe in the third lap, and never looked back. The closing laps drama unfolded when a full-course caution flag flew with six laps to go. The lanky Brit was not going to let anyone by on the restart and surged to his first victory of the 2009 IndyCar Series season and his second overall. Wilson gave team owner Dale Coyne his first victory in open-wheel racing in 25 years and did it with style, outrunning Ryan Briscoe and the Penske team with a 4.9 second margin of victory.

When team owner Dale Coyne made key decisions to add Justin Wilson and engineer Bill Pappas to the team in the pre-season he knew he was setting the stage for a win this year and in the first race of the season in St. Pete, Wilson placed a solid third. Coyne knew it was only a matter of time before the team raced to its first victory.

"We worked hard to put all the right pieces together for the team and today was the first step in achieving those goals," exclaimed team owner Dale Coyne. "I want to thank and remember everyone who touched this team throughout the years to achieve this goal. We are looking forward to a very bright future."

Wilson drove a flawless race and the Dale Coyne crew was outstanding with their quick and efficient pit work. This is the first time that a team other than Penske or Ganassi has visited victory lane in the 2009 season.

"The Z-Line Designs/Sixth Avenue Electronics car was really fun to drive today, and the whole Dale Coyne Racing team did a great job," exclaimed Wilson. "I had a smile from ear-to-ear on the final lap and I'm so happy to give Dale his first victory. I can't thank them and Z-Line Designs enough for their support this year. This is definitely the most important victory of my career."

Justin Wilson's victory today vaulted him five places to 10th in the IndyCar Series Championship point standings and with two street courses on the schedule in the next two weeks, Wilson is poised to make tremendous strides in the points.

The IndyCar® Series will head to Toronto on July 12, 2009. Live coverage begins on ABC-TV at 1:00 p.m. (EST) for the Honda Indy Toronto race.

-credit: dcr

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Justin Wilson , Ryan Briscoe , Dale Coyne
Teams Dale Coyne Racing