Team Penske wins Pit Stop Challenge for record 15th time

It came down to a Penske/Ganassi showdown in the Pit Stop Challenge.

INDIANAPOLIS - The 2015 annual Tag Heuer Pit Stop Challenge on Carb Day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway saw a repeat winner as the field of 12 was reduced to two and saw Helio Castroneves claim his seventh victory at the annual pit stop competition over Charlie Kimball.

Castroneves advanced from the first round with victories over Graham Rahal and Ryan Briscoe while Kimball also advanced from the first round, beating Takuma Sato and Scott Dixon in the second round.

The first semi final pitted Kimball vs Marco Andretti, with Kimball coming out victorious over Andretti.

The second semi final pitted Team Penske teammates Castroneves and Will Power go up against each other with Castroneves pulling off a victory by just over a tenth of a second.

Castroneves went up against Kimball in the finals and was able to win by just over half a second.  Castroneves has won the race twice after winning the pit stop competition, in 2002 and 2009.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event Indy 500
Track Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Charlie Kimball
Article type Breaking news
Tags chip ganassi racing, team penske