Scott Dixon earns pole for 99th Indianapolis 500

Scott Dixon, Will Power, and Simon Pagenaud make up the front row.

INDIANAPOLIS - The top 30 spots have been set for the 2015 running of the Indianapolis 500. Scott Dixon has earned his second pole position in the event with a four-lap average of 226.760mph. Team Penske teammates Will Power (226.350mph) and Simon Pagenaud (226.145mph) make up the rest of the front row.

Dixon comments

It means a lot," said the pole-sitter. "I think with all the preparation that goes into qualifying alone we still have the race to come next week. I’m just so proud of everybody at Team Target whether it’s the engineers and everybody that has worked so hard to get the speed out of this car.  It was definitely a tough day. I’m stoked. Just extremely happy that we are on the pole I wasn’t sure we went so early that it was going to stick.”

"I think the Team Target guys did a hell of a job to get the combination together. The worked hard. You work and your mindset is on one combination a for a whole week, even the lead up to it on low boost. Then a low configuration and a high boost, then it changes. You just have to take your best guess at it and you got a small feeling in a session and  you really know how it is going to be."

Best of the rest

Dixon was also the only driver to top 227mph in one of his four laps. The top five are all Penske or Ganassi Chevrolets, with Tony Kanaan and Helio Castroneves rounding out the final two spots.

Andretti Autosport's Justin Wilson was the highest qualifying Honda in sixth. Sebastien Bourdais, Marco Andretti, Josef Newgarden, and J.R. Hildebrand make up the rest of the top ten.

Graham Rahal, who will start 17th, said that he suffered gearbox issues during his run while in fifth and sixth gear.


Jack Hawksworth, Stefano Coletti, Bryan Clauson, and Buddy Lazier were the slowest four cars and got one more chance to fight their way into the 500 with one going home, Lazier ended up coming 1mph short of Clauson, a 220.153mph lap to a 221.358mph.

Full qualifying results:

Pos No. Driver Team Speed (mph)
9 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 226.760
1 Will Power Team Penske 226.350
22 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske 226.145
10 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing 225.503
3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske 225.502
25 Justin Wilson Andretti Autosport 225.279
11 Sebastien Bourdais KV Racing Technology 225.193
27 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport 225.189
21 Josef Newgarden CFH Racing 225.187
10  6 J. R. Hildebrand CFH Racing 225.099
11  26 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport 225.042
12  20 Ed Carpenter CFH Racing 224.883
13  32 Oriol Servia Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 224.777
14  83 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing 224.743
15  2 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske 224.657
16  28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport 224.573
17  15 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 224.290
18  18 Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing 224.233
19  29 Simona de Silvestro Andretti Autosport 223.838
20  7 James Jakes Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 223.790
21  19 Tristan Vautier* Dale Coyne Racing 223.747
22  48 Alex Tagliani A. J. Foyt Enterprises 223.722
23  8 Sage Karam Chip Ganassi Racing 223.595
24  5 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 223.519
25  43 Conor Daly Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 223.482
26  24 Townsend Bell Dreyer & Reinbold Kingdom Racing 223.447
27  14 Takuma Sato A. J. Foyt Enterprises 223.226
28  63 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne Racing 223.104
29  98 Gabby Chaves Bryan Herta Autosport 222.916
30  17 Sebastian Saavedra Chip Ganassi Racing 222.898
31  41 Jack Hawksworth A. J. Foyt Enterprises 223.738
32  4 Stefano Coletti KV Racing Technology 222.001
33  88 Bryan Clauson Jonathan Byrd's Racing 221.358
DNQ 91 Buddy Lazier Lazier Partners Racing 220.153

* The #19 car will be raced by James Davison.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Scott Dixon
Article type Qualifying report
Tags chip ganassi racing