Power scores first win at Sonoma

Will Power became the 10th different winner this season.

SONOMA, Calif. (Sunday, Aug. 25, 2013) - Will Power became the 10th different winner in 15 IZOD IndyCar Series races by recording a 1.1930-second victory in the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma at Sonoma Raceway.

Power, who started third in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, led the final 16 laps to win at the 2.385-mile, 12-turn road course for the third time in four years. It was his first victory since April 29, 2012, at Brazil.

Power inherited the lead on Lap 70 when Scott Dixon was issued a drive-through penalty by INDYCAR officials for a pit safety infraction on his final stop. Dixon and Power were running 1-2 when they pitted on Lap 64, with Power's pit stall directly in front of Dixon's.

As the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing car made its break, it clipped the right-rear tire carried by Penske crew member Travis Law, which knocked Law into airjack man Damon Lopez. Both Law and Lopez, along with crewman Jeremy Baker, who was hit by an airgun, were evaluated and released by INDYCAR Medical without injury.

In the final laps, Dixon charged from 20th to 15th. He picked up three bonus points -- two for leading the most laps (27) and one for leading a lap - and trails Helio Castroneves by 39 points heading to the Sept. 1 Grand Prix of Baltimore. Dixon entered the race 31 points back of Castroneves, who finished seventh for his 11th consecutive top 10 in the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske car.

Justin Wilson placed a season-high second and Verizon P1 Award winner Dario Franchitti recorded his fourth podium finish in the past five races.

Thirteen drivers remain in championship contention.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Justin Wilson , Helio Castroneves , Dario Franchitti , Scott Dixon , Chip Ganassi , Will Power
Teams Team Penske , Chip Ganassi Racing
Article type Race report
Tags chevrolet, dixon, franchitti, honda, power, sonoma, wilson