Both Juan Pablo Montoya and Will Power were not happy with the sanctioning body after the finale, but for different reasons.
Juan Pablo Montoya had few, but strong words after losing the IndyCar title in a tiebreaker.
"We threw it away."
Both he and Team Penske teammate Will Power took out their frustration on series officials, but sounded off different topics. Montoya was upset with the entire concept of double points while Power was more annoyed with the officiating of the Sonoma race itself.
It was a surprising race and few thought they would watch a year of domination from Montoya evaporate in a single event. Dixon came into this race third in points, 47 back of the Colombian, who had led the standings after every single round of the 2015 season up until now.
We have to decide whether we are a sport or a casino.
Will Power on how the race played out
Montoya slams double points
"When you make double points the last race in a road course and you change the tire and you do everything you did for this weekend and you put so many variables, it doesn't even matter what you do all year.
"Dixon had a shit season all year and had one good race, and we paid the penalty."
Continuing to express his displeasure with double points: "Is it fair? No, but we go into the last race of the year knowing it's a doublepoints race. Is it fair for a normal championship? No, it's not fair, but it's the rules they want to play with, and if you don't like the rules, don't race."
Graham Rahal later agreed when asked about Montoya's comments, saying "I don't think any race should have double points."
Penske teammates collide
Early in the race, the turning point had to be when Montoya and Power collided, sending both to the rear of the field. Neither seemed angry at one another and Power explained himself, suggesting that he was focusing on cutting back under Josef Newgarden when he came down on Montoya.
That was far from the only thing he had to say though. The 2014 series champion took aim at race control, stating "We have to decide whether we are a sport or a casino." It's unclear what he was specifically bothered by, but many believe it has to do with the decision to throw a caution for Luca Filippi on Lap 33, which led to the Penske duo being stuck in traffic and eventually getting together as a result.
"The racing and the championship shouldn't be decided by race control, it should be decided on the race track. We put all this effort and money in and the thing is decided by yellow.
"It's an absolute lottery."