Power holds off Rahal to win GP of Indy

Will Power dominated the race, but Graham Rahal stole the headlines.

1.5023 seconds. That was the margin between Will Power and Graham Rahal at the checkered flag. Power blew the competition away, but the single-car Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda was able to keep the pressure on. The reigning series champion became the first pole-sitter-turned-winner this season.

Winner comments

"I’m halfway there," an excited Power proclaimed after winning both the pole and race for the GP. "I’m going for all four! I’m very determined. Now I’ve won a championship. The Indy 500 is the absolutely on my mind, and that’s the one race I want to win.”

“That was hard when (Tim Cindric) told me the number I had to hit, and then that Rahal was closing," he added. "It was really hard. I was trying to save in the spots where we wouldn’t lose time and push like hell in the other areas. That’s the most physical race I think I’ve ever done. It never stopped. I was so determined to win that I didn’t want anything to go wrong."

Championship shuffle

Juan Pablo Montoya took the final spot on the podium and maintained his championship lead as the two drivers closest to him collided at the start of the race. As the field scrambled for position into the first corner, Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon made contact, sending the Ganassi car. Jack Hawksworth, Josef Newgarden and others suffered damage as cars scattered in avoidance.

The margin is now just five points though with Power moving into second. Rahal's back-to-back runner-up finishes have launched him up to fifth, tied with Dixon for fourth.

The remainder of the race went without incident. Justin Wilson and Simon Pagenaud were two notable drivers who fell out of the running, Pagenaud coming down pit road while running in the fifth position.

Sebastian Bourdais and Charlie Kimball rounded out the top five. Castroneves finished sixth in his 300th career start, followed by Tony Kanaan, Stefano Coletti, Takuma Sato, and Scott Dixon, who rebounded well from that early spin after having to replace both the front and rear wing. Sato was the only other Honda driver inside the top ten.

Career day for rookie Coletti

Coletti enjoyed the best race of his young IndyCar career, fighting with some of the best in the series and coming home inside the top ten after topping the charts in warmup.

“We decided to go on another strategy than the others, we had a bit more downforce than them so we knew we would struggle on the straight and that’s what happened," said Coletti after a thrilling battle with Kanaan that led to a career-best result. "Tony was a lot quicker than me down the straight and I knew I just had to keep the inside every time I was coming out of the last corner and out of the chicane back there. I just went straight at turn one and he got me there, otherwise it was very nice and clean racing.”

Race results

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
Will Power Team Penske 1h42m42.0940
Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 1.5023
Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske 7.1967
Sebastien Bourdais KV Racing 7.7336
Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing 25.1179
Helio Castroneves Team Penske 31.7352
Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing 32.3191
Stefano Coletti KV Racing 35.3853
Takuma Sato A. J. Foyt Enterprises 40.8267
10  Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 47.4715
11  Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport 48.5410
12  James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 49.5461
13  Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport 54.2372
14  Luca Filippi CFH Racing 54.8713
15  Gabby Chaves Bryan Herta Autosport 1m01.3092
16  Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport 1m07.2448
17  Sebastian Saavedra Chip Ganassi Racing 1m09.2079
18  James Jakes Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 1 Lap
19  Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing 1 Lap
20  Josef Newgarden CFH Racing 1 Lap
21  J. R. Hildebrand CFH Racing 1 Lap
22  Francesco Dracone Dale Coyne Racing 2 Laps
Ret Jack Hawksworth A. J. Foyt Enterprises -
Ret Justin Wilson Andretti Autosport -
Ret Simon Pagenaud Team Penske -


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event Grand Prix of Indy
Sub-event Saturday race
Track Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Drivers Will Power
Article type Race report
Tags team penske