Penske pilots publicize penalty perspectives

Team Penske drivers talk about the controversial officiating that took place at Long Beach, and their views aren't all the same.

At Long Beach, Will Power and Simon Pagenaud had a coming together at the exit of Shoreline drive. Many were surprised that Power was not assessed a penalty by the race stewards, but it’s becoming more and more clear that hands off officiating will be the norm in IndyCar racing this year.

“They [the stewards] told us that in the preseason meetings that they were going to try to see if we could do it like NASCAR where we take care of it on the track, […] but he [Barfield] did exactly what he said he was going to do before the season started,” Power said.

While Barfield’s sticking to his intentions, Power’s slightly skeptical of how drivers will police themselves on track.

“I don’t think it’s going to work here because open wheel cars are a little bit more fragile,” Power explained.

One of his teammates, Helio Castroneves, praised the communication between the stewards and the drivers regarding the rules and how they are applied.

“So far the communication between drivers and officials, I think it’s been better than ever,” Castroneves said.

Penske newcomer Juan Pablo Montoya had a different approach to the whole officiating situation.

“I haven’t even thought about it to be honest, it’s racing, you make mistakes and if you make mistakes you pay for the mistakes. That’s like it is in any other series,” Montoya said.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Juan Pablo Montoya
Teams Team Penske
Article type Interview
Tags barber, barfield, indycar, long beach, pagenaud, penske