Pagenaud fastest in St. Pete practice, as Power shunts

Simon Pagenaud set fastest time in the first practice session of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season, but Penske-Chevrolet teammate Will Power caused the first red flag.

Pagenaud laid down a 1min01.7246sec, an average speed of 104.982mph to head Jack Hawksworth, who spearheaded a strong showing for AJ Foyt Racing-Honda. Just 0.0624sec behind Pagenaud, third-year driver Hawksworth led his teammate and former St. Pete polesitter Takuma Sato by 0.02sec, with Penske’s Helio Castroneves splitting the pair.

2014 champion Power, who has taken five pole positions and two wins at this track, lost control at Turn 9 on his fifth lap while adjusting his brake bias, and struck the outside wall hard. He was uninjured.

P5 went to the leading Andretti Autosport-Honda of Ryan Hunter-Reay, just under a tenth ahead of reigning champion Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan of Chip Ganassi Racing-Chevrolet.

Luca Filippi was 16th fastest in his first practice session for Dale Coyne Racing-Honda, while series returnee Mikhail Aleshin of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports was 21st.

Rookies Alexander Rossi (Andretti), Spencer Pigot (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda), Conor Daly (Coyne) and Max Chilton (Ganassi) were 18th, 19th, 20th and 22nd respectively.

First practice results:

1 22  Simon Pagenaud  Penske Chevrolet 1:01.7246
2 41  Jack Hawksworth  Foyt Honda
3 3  Helio Castroneves  Penske Chevrolet
4 14  Takuma Sato  Foyt Honda 0.1165
5 28  Ryan Hunter-Reay  Andretti Honda 0.1488
6 9  Scott Dixon  Ganassi Chevrolet 0.2376
7 10  Tony Kanaan  Ganassi Chevrolet 0.2721
8 2  Juan Pablo Montoya  Penske Chevrolet 0.3718
9 83  Charlie Kimball  Ganassi Chevrolet 0.4225
10 26  Carlos Munoz  Andretti Honda 0.4300
11 27  Marco Andretti  Andretti Honda 0.4335
12 11  Sebastien Bourdais  KVSH Chevrolet 0.4375
13 5  James Hinchcliffe  Schmidt/Peterson Honda 0.4592
14 21  Josef Newgarden  Carpenter Chevrolet 0.5120
15 15  Graham Rahal  Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 0.5169
16 19  Luca Filippi  Coyne Honda 0.5635
17 12  Will Power  Penske Chevrolet 0.7105
18 98  Alexander Rossi  Andretti/Herta Honda 0.8651
19 16  Spencer Pigot  Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 1.1108
20 18  Conor Daly  Coyne Honda 1.2023
21 7  Mikhail Aleshin  Schmidt/Peterson Honda 1.5562
22 8  Max Chilton  Ganassi Chevrolet 1.6562


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event St. Pete
Track St. Petersburg Street Course
Drivers Will Power , Simon Pagenaud , Jack Hawksworth
Teams Team Penske , A.J. Foyt Enterprises
Article type Practice report