Newgarden earns first career IndyCar pole at Milwaukee

Josef Newgarden will lead the field to the green flag for the 12th race of the 2015 IndyCar season.

A Chevrolet and Honda will share the front row for today's IndyCar race at the Milwaukee Mile. Josef Newgarden earned his maiden pole for CFH Racing and will start alongside Ryan Briscoe in the Schmidt Peterson entry.

Newgarden's two-lap average of 170.223mph was the best of all 24 entries, beating out Briscoe's 170.086mph for pole. He is also the sixth different pole winner in twelve events this season.

“It's nice to lead three of the sessions, but the fourth is the most important,” said Newgarden, who is looking for his third win of the season. “We’ve had more success on road and street courses, so to get a pole on an oval is a feather in our cap and a great reward for our hard work.”

The second row will be occupied by Ganassi teammates Sage Karam (best career start) and Tony Kanaan. James Jakes rounded out the top five and will start next to Fontana race-winner Graham Rahal.

Helio Castroneves failed to make a run in qualifying and will start from the rear of the field due to a violation of the IndyCar rule book. "Rule of the Verizon IndyCar Series rulebook states that cars in the second half of the qualifying order must be in the fueling line 15 minutes before the beginning of qualifications."

Championship leader Juan Pablo Montoya will roll off from the eighth position on the grid.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event Milwaukee
Sub-event Sunday qualifying
Track Milwaukee Mile
Drivers Ryan Briscoe , Josef Newgarden
Teams Ed Carpenter Racing
Article type Qualifying report