Juan Pablo Montoya wins 2015 Indianapolis 500

Juan Pablo Montoya has won the 99th running of the Indy 500.

INDIANAPOLIS - Juan Pablo Montoya has earned his second Indianapolis 500 victory in just his third start in the race. He dueled with his Penske teammates and Ganassi rivals for most of the day until a violent late-race wreck set up a 15 lap sprint to the finish.

Fight for the win and early contact for JPM

In the closing laps, Montoya battled with Will Power and Scott Dixon as Charlie Kimball hung on to the rear of the lead back. He made some daring moves, kicking up dirt as he powered by Dixon at one point. Later, he went three wide on the outside to challenge for the top spot. 

Kimball came home third, Dixon fourth, and Graham Rahal was once again the top Honda driver in fifth.

It wasn't smooth sailing for Montoya though. During the first caution of the race, he was run into by Simona de Silvestro and needed a rear wing change, dropping to the rear of the field as a result.

Carnage takes out race contenders

The race was slowed by six caution flags. There were 20 cars on the lead lap at the checkered flag with ten cars failing to finish the race and one failing to even start (Conor Daly due to electrical issues).

Among those taken out throughout the day included Tony Kanaan, who backed it into the wall moments after a downforce adjustment during a pit stop.

On the opening lap, Takuma Sato went three wide on the outside and ran out of room, coming together with Sage Karam. Ryan Briscoe spun in avoidance. Sato rebounded after falling two laps down and finished an impressive 13th (Crash Video).

Oriol Servia and Ed Carpenter later crashed out after Servia failed to notice a late move by Carpenter into the first corner. USAC star Bryan Clauson ran wide and got up into the wall early, ending his 500 run on the hook. During that yellow, all three Dale Coyne Hondas ran into each other on pit road, injuring two crew members on Vautier's team (Pit Road Incident Video).

Saavedra injured

The biggest wreck took place as the race neared the 11th hour. Jack Hawksworth got into Sebastian Saavedra and the two spun into the turn four wall. As Saavedra came back across the track, rookie Stefano Coletti made hard contact with the front of the No. 17, momentarily sending the front of his own car into the air (Crash Video).

Saavedra suffered a contusion in his right foot and will need to have clearance before the next race on the calendar.

 Pos.   No.   Driver   Engine   Laps   Time 
2 Juan Pablo Montoya Chevrolet 200 3:05'56.5286
1 Will Power Chevrolet 200 3:05'56.6332
83 Charlie Kimball Chevrolet 200 3:05'57.3236
9 Scott Dixon Chevrolet 200 3:05'57.5578
15 Graham Rahal Honda 200 3:05'58.8408
27 Marco Andretti Honda 200 3:05'59.0674
3 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 200 3:05'59.3107
6 J. R. Hildebrand Chevrolet 200 3:06'00.0917
21 Josef Newgarden Chevrolet 200 3:06'00.5567
10  22 Simon Pagenaud Chevrolet 200 3:06'00.7434
11  11 Sebastien Bourdais Chevrolet 200 3:06'01.8353
12  5 Ryan Briscoe Honda 200 3:06'02.1973
13  14 Takuma Sato Honda 200 3:06'02.6964
14  24 Townsend Bell Chevrolet 200 3:06'05.0291
15  28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Honda 200 3:06'06.1767
16  98 Gabby Chaves Honda 200 3:06'06.6302
17  48 Alex Tagliani Honda 200 3:06'07.7437
18  7 James Jakes Honda 200 3:06'08.5717
19  29 Simona de Silvestro Honda 200 3:06'09.2614
20  26 Carlos Munoz Honda 200 3:06'36.3632
21  25 Justin Wilson Honda 199 3:06'01.4009
22  63 Pippa Mann Honda 197 3:06'23.0005
23  17 Sebastian Saavedra Chevrolet 175 2:38'48.2541
24  41 Jack Hawksworth Honda 175 2:38'48.6877
25  4 Stefano Coletti Chevrolet 175 2:38'48.9342
26  10 Tony Kanaan Chevrolet 151 2:11'53.6384
27  19 James Davison Honda 116 1:52'37.4194
28  18 Tristan Vautier Honda 116 1:52'37.4195
29  32 Oriol Servia Honda 112 1:35'46.5083
30  20 Ed Carpenter Chevrolet 112 1:35'46.6125
31  88 Bryan Clauson Chevrolet 61 55'01.4410
32  8 Sage Karam Chevrolet 0 3.0703
33  43 Conor Daly Honda 0  

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event Indy 500
Sub-event Sunday race
Track Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Drivers Juan Pablo Montoya
Article type Race report
Tags team penske