IRL: Nashville: Round 11 preview

FAST FACTS WHAT: IndyCar® Series: Firestone Indy 200, 11th race in 17-race 2007 season WHERE: Nashville Superspeedway, 1.33-mile concrete oval WHEN: IndyCar Series: 7:30 p.m. (ET), Saturday, July 14 DISTANCE: IndyCar Series: 200 laps/266...


WHAT: IndyCar® Series: Firestone Indy 200, 11th race in 17-race 2007 season

WHERE: Nashville Superspeedway, 1.33-mile concrete oval

WHEN: IndyCar Series: 7:30 p.m. (ET), Saturday, July 14

DISTANCE: IndyCar Series: 200 laps/266 miles

POSTED AWARDS: IndyCar Series: More than $1 million

CARS: IndyCar Series: Dallara chassis; Honda Indy V-8; Firestone tires; 100 percent fuel-grade ethanol

PREVIOUS RACE WINNERS: IndyCar Series: Scott Dixon (2006), Dario Franchitti (2005), Tony Kanaan (2004), Gil de Ferran (2003), Alex Barron (2002), Buddy Lazier (2001).

2006 SERIES CHAMPIONS: IndyCar Series: Sam Hornish Jr.

TV: IndyCar Series: Race: ESPN (live), 7:30 p.m. (ET), July 14

Note: Live streaming video coverage of AAMCO Transmissions Pole Qualifying (5:15 p.m., (ET) July 13) is available at

RADIO: IndyCar Series:

Qualifying: IMS Radio Network, live web-cast, 6 p.m. (ET) July 13

Pre-race: IMS Radio Network (live), 7 p.m. (ET), July 14

Race: IMS Radio Network (live), 7:30 p.m. (ET), July 14

Live coverage of AAMCO Transmissions Pole Qualifying (5:15 p.m., (ET) July 1) and the race also will be available at The race broadcast is also available on XM Satellite Radio channel 144 "XM Sports Nation" and XM channel 145 "IndyCar Racing"

SCHEDULE (all times local; subject to change):

Friday, July 13
10 a.m. -- Noon IndyCar Series practice (two groups)
1:30 -3:30 p.m. IndyCar Series practice (two groups)
5:15 p.m. IndyCar Series AAMCO Transmissions Pole Qualifying
7 p.m. Autograph session

Saturday, July 14
6:30 p.m. Firestone Indy 200 (200 laps/266 miles) ESPN & IMS Radio Network (live)

1.33-mile concrete oval
Frontstretch: 2,494 feet banked at 9 degrees
Backstretch: 2,203 feet banked at 6 degrees
Turns: 1,220 feet banked at 14 degrees
Width: 55 feet (minimum)

* Ground was broken on Nashville Superspeedway in August 1999, and the facility includes 3,000 acres of which 1,200 have been developed. The track, owned by Dover Motorsports, Inc., is one of three concrete ovals in the United States, the others being Dover International Speedway and Bristol Motor Speedway. The facility has 50,000 seats (25,000 permanent, 25,000 temporary) and 24 luxury suites. Ken Schrader won an ARCA event on April 13, 2001, the first race at the new facility.

Middle Tennessee has hosted top-level auto racing since 1958, but open-wheel racing only has taken place there since July 2001.

NASCAR stock car races were held at Nashville Speedway USA from 1958-1984. The track's weekly racing series helped launch the careers of Darrell Waltrip, Sterling Marlin and Bobby Hamilton.

In 2001, racing moved 30 miles east of Nashville to Nashville Superspeedway, which played host to its first IndyCar Series event that July. Since then, five drivers have claimed the hand-painted Gibson guitar given to the race winner.

The 1.33-mile tri-oval is the only concrete track on the IndyCar Series schedule. The pavement, which consists of 7,500 cubic yards of concrete, was placed full-width for the entire length of the track by a concrete paving machine that was specially constructed for the project.


* Five Indianapolis 500 champions are expected to participate in the Firestone Indy 200: Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002), Buddy Rice (2004), Dan Wheldon (2005), Sam Hornish Jr. (2006) and Dario Franchitti (2007).

* Five IndyCar Series champions are scheduled to participate in the Firestone Indy 200: Scott Sharp (1996 co-champion), Sam Hornish Jr. (2001, 2002, 2006), Scott Dixon (2003), Tony Kanaan (2004) and Dan Wheldon (2005).

* Drivers entered in the Firestone Indy 200 have combined for 82 IndyCar Series victories, 78 IndyCar Series pole positions and 1,208 IndyCar Series starts.

* The Firestone Indy 200 is the only event in the series that takes place on a track with a concrete surface and the only track with a 1.33-mile distance. The event is the fourth of five night races in the 2007 season. Other events in 2007 that have taken place at night include the March 24 event at Homestead-Miami Speedway won by Dan Wheldon, the June 9 event at Texas Motor Speedway won by Sam Hornish Jr. and the June 30 event at Richmond International Raceway won by Dario Franchitti.

* In 10 races thus far in 2007, there have been six winners. Dario Franchitti, Tony Kanaan and Dan Wheldon are the only multiple winners. Franchitti won at Indianapolis, Iowa and Richmond. Wheldon won at Homestead-Miami and Kansas and Kanaan won at Twin Ring Motegi and Milwaukee. Other winners in 2007: Helio Castroneves at St. Petersburg, Sam Hornish Jr. at Texas and Scott Dixon at Watkins Glen. In those 10 races, 14 drivers have finished in the top five in at least one event.


The 2007 IndyCar Series season continues with the Firestone Indy 200 at 7:30 p.m. (ET) on July 14 at Nashville Superspeedway. The race will be televised live by ESPN and broadcast by the IMS Radio Network. The next Indy Pro Series event is the Sunbelt Rentals 100 on July 14 at Nashville Superspeedwat. The race will be televised by ESPN2 at 5 p.m. on July 18. ESPN2's coverage of the Corning Twin 100s will be broadcast at 5:30 p.m. on July 12.

-credit: irl

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Bobby Hamilton , Darrell Waltrip , Ken Schrader , Sterling Marlin , Buddy Lazier , Scott Sharp , Helio Castroneves , Gil de Ferran , Dario Franchitti , Scott Dixon , Tony Kanaan , Alex Barron , Dan Wheldon , Buddy Rice , Sam Hornish Jr.