IRL: Kansas: Felipe Giaffone qualifying report

Felipe Giaffone and the ...

Felipe Giaffone and the #21 Hollywood/Mo Nunn Racing Chevrolet G-Force will start Sunday's Ameristar Casino Indy 200 Indy Racing League event at Kansas Speedway from the inside of the 10th row. Giaffone turned a fast qualifying lap of 25.7460 seconds (212.538 mph) around the 1.5-mile high-banked oval on his second of two qualifying laps during pole qualifying today. Earlier today, Giaffone had the 10th-fastest time in practice at 25.2207 seconds (216.965 mph).

Rookie Tomas Scheckter earned the pole with a fast lap of 25.0381 seconds (218.547 mph). He'll be joined on the front row by defending series champion Sam Hornish, Jr., who recorded a fast lap of 25.1305 seconds (217.743 mph). Defending race-winner Eddie Cheever, Jr., Scheckter's teammate, qualified third with a lap of 25.1414 seconds (217.649 mph).

Final practice is set for 9:30 a.m. EDT Sunday with race time set for 1 p.m. EDT. ABC-TV will broadcast the event live.


"I'm not 100 percent sure what happened during my qualifying run. It was very strange. My warm-up laps were very good - even better than my qualifying laps. Except for when I got to the very end of my last warm-up lap. I had a big push, and I had to lift, so that took away the momentum I needed for my first flying lap. I tried to make some adjustments for my second lap, but they just didn't turn out to be enough. I'm not happy about starting 19th. That's my worst qualifying position of the season. But back at Texas, where the track is like this one, I started 18th and made up many positions during the race and finished fifth. So it's possible, I think. We have a good race car. I'm sure of that. Race days have always been our best days all year. We know what adjustments we have to make after that qualifying run. It's going to be a hot day, so we are ready for a good fight."


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Tomas Scheckter , Felipe Giaffone , Eddie Cheever , Mo Nunn , Sam Hornis