IRL: Indy Racing League notebook 2003-06-04

Indy Racing League Notebook Dare to drive No. 5 Foyt entry at Texas; Many sights for fans at Texas INDIANAPOLIS, Wednesday, June 4, 2003 -- 2000 IRL IndyCarTM Series Rookie of the Year Airton Dare will drive an A.J. Foyt Racing entry at the ...

Indy Racing League Notebook
Dare to drive No. 5 Foyt entry at Texas; Many sights for fans at Texas

INDIANAPOLIS, Wednesday, June 4, 2003 -- 2000 IRL IndyCarTM Series Rookie of the Year Airton Dare will drive an A.J. Foyt Racing entry at the Bombardier 500 on June 7 at Texas Motor Speedway, according to a team news release.

Dare will drive the No. 5 Conseco/A.J. Foyt Racing Dallara/Toyota/Firestone as a teammate to regular Foyt driver A.J. Foyt IV. Dare replaces Shigeaki Hattori.

"I think it'll be good to work with A.J. IV, because we have a good relationship from when he used to change my right front tire last year," Dare said. "We'll be able to exchange information, and I think that will help both of us out a lot."

Dare, 25, drove the entire 2002 season for Foyt. He earned his first career victory in July 2002 at Kansas Speedway and finished third last year at the Bombardier 500 in Foyt's car.

This will be Dare's second start of the season. He finished 24th in a third Foyt car in the Indianapolis 500 on May 25 after being eliminated in an accident on Lap 127.


Texas pours on promotions: IndyCar Series events at Texas Motor Speedway have featured some of the most unique promotions of any race in the IndyCar Series, and the Bombardier 500 on June 7 will be no exception.

Fans will have the chance to shake, rattle and roll with The Wheelie-ing Elvi at Texas Motor Speedway. The "kings" of vintage Honda Mini Trail bikes will perform their best rolling formations down the frontstretch as part of the pre-race parade lap for the Bombardier 500.

The frontstretch also will double as a runway as a Cirrus SR-22 airplane taxis during the parade lap. The winner of the MBNA Pole for this race will win a one-year lease to a Cirrus SR-22.

Fans also will be treated to exciting freestyle motocross action from the Tour. Four riders are scheduled to participate, including X Games and Gravity Games veterans Doug Parsons, Trevor Vines, Wes Burr and Jim McNiel.

The parade lap gets underway at 5:45 p.m. (CDT) June 7, with the exhibition scheduled to begin at 6 p.m.

Astronaut Gene Cernan, the last man to walk on the moon, will be the grand marshal of the Bombardier 500.

Kenny Brack and the Subwoofers, the rock cover band led by 1999 Indianapolis 500 winner Brack, will perform June 6 at TMS.


Fans trek to Texas: Participants in this year's Hot Rod Magazine Power Tour are coming to Texas Motor Speedway for the Bombardier 500 as part of a special ticket promotion presented by Year One, the nation's largest supplier of performance and restoration parts, and Chevrolet.

Sponsored by Chevrolet, the 2003 Power Tour began May 30 in Nashville, Tenn., and is working its way through New Orleans en route to Fort Worth, Texas, arriving June 5 with the party continuing through Friday, June 6.

Power Tour participants then will watch the Bombardier 500 on June 7, with a special parking spot as part of a ticket promotion presented by Year One, Texas Motor Speedway, the Indy Racing League and Indy Speed, Custom & Restoration Shops.

A caravan of fans from the Indianapolis area left Indy Speed, Custom & Restoration Shops in Brownsburg, Ind., on May 29. Larry and Lee Anne Nash, who fielded former Indy Racing League team LP Racing, own the Brownsburg shop.


Al's place: Two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Al Unser Jr. has started only six of the 11 IndyCar Series races at Texas Motor Speedway, but he has made quite an impression at the 1.5-mile oval.

Unser has led 221 laps in six career starts at TMS, more than any other driver.


Only in Texas: Texas Motor Speedway has been extra nice to four IndyCar Series drivers: It provided each with his only career victory so far in the series.

Billy Boat, driving for A.J. Foyt, won the race in June 1998.

John Paul Jr. drove in 24 IRL races. He pulled off his only win at the September 1998 race at Texas. Driving for Jonathan Byrd, he led the last 16 laps and beat out Robby Unser, Jeff Ward, Roberto Guerrero and Kenny Brack. Paul now is a team manager for IRL Infiniti Pro Series team Kenn Hardley Racing.

Mark Dismore drove in 58 IRL races and scored his lone victory in the season finale of the 1999 season at Texas.

Jeff Ward finally got the non-winning monkey off his back last June. He edged Al Unser Jr. at the finish line by .0111 of a second to lead his only lap of the race and end a 50-race dry spell.


Vogler scholarship: Denise Pennington of Indianapolis was announced June 3 as the winner of a $1,000 scholarship from the Rich Vogler Memorial Scholarship Foundation.

The announcement was made by Eleanor Vogler, mother of late multi-time USAC champion and Indianapolis 500 veteran Rich Vogler.

Pennington, who graduated with a bachelor's degree from Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in December, plans to pursue a master's degree in finance. She has been the audio editor for the Indianapolis 500 News Bureau for the last three years.

The Vogler foundation has awarded more than $250,000 in scholarships over the past 13 years and has significant support from NASCAR Winston Cup driver Ryan Newman. For information or donations, contact Eleanor Vogler at


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Ryan Newman , Al Unser Jr. , Shigeaki Hattori , Jeff Ward , Billy Boat , Airton Daré , Mark Dismore , Roberto Guerrero , Kenny Brack , Robby Unser , John Paul , A.J. Foyt