IRL: Indy 500: The field

Six former winners, 89 cars ready for 86th Indianapolis 500. INDIANAPOLIS, Tuesday, April 9, 2002 - Six former winners, including two-time winners Arie Luyendyk and Al Unser Jr. and defending champion Helio Castroneves, lead the entry list for...

Six former winners, 89 cars ready for 86th Indianapolis 500.

INDIANAPOLIS, Tuesday, April 9, 2002 - Six former winners, including two-time winners Arie Luyendyk and Al Unser Jr. and defending champion Helio Castroneves, lead the entry list for the 86th Indianapolis 500.

Forty-six entries totaling 89 cars were officially filed for the Indy Racing League event, which starts at noon (EDT) Sunday, May 26. The race will be telecast live on ABC.

Thirty-seven drivers were named on the 46 entries. Drivers will compete for one of 33 starting spots in the world's most prestigious auto race at the legendary 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Other former Indianapolis 500 champions named to entries besides Luyendyk (1990, 1997), Unser (1992, 1994) and Castroneves (2001) are Buddy Lazier (1996), Eddie Cheever Jr. (1998) and Kenny Brack (1999). Brack returns to the race for the first time since his victory in 1999. Castroneves also is the first champion to defend his race victory since Cheever in 1999.

The field also includes four Indy Racing League champions: Scott Sharp (1996 co-champion), Brack (1998), Lazier (2000) and Sam Hornish Jr. (2001).

"The 86th Indianapolis 500 should be one of the most competitive in history with an extremely tight field," said Brian Barnhart, Indy Racing League vice president of operations. "The depth and quality of teams are unmatched in open-wheel racing, and the driver lineup is outstanding. The month of May will be exciting."

Two top open-wheel teams, Team Rahal and Team Green, will return to the Speedway for the first time since 1995.

Veteran Jimmy Vasser will drive for Team Rahal, owned by 1986 Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Rahal. Team Green has fielded separate entries for veterans Michael Andretti and Paul Tracy and rookie Dario Franchitti.

Other teams fielding three entries include Indy Racing League standouts A.J. Foyt Racing, with drivers Eliseo Salazar, Airton Dare and a driver to be announced; Red Bull Cheever Racing, with drivers Cheever, rookie Tomas Scheckter and a driver to be announced; Kelley Racing, with drivers Unser, 2001 MBNA Pole winner Sharp and a driver to be announced; and Chip Ganassi Racing, with full-time Indy Racing League team driver Jeff Ward and CART standouts Brack and Bruno Junqueira.

Other notable drivers in the field include former Formula One standout Johnny Herbert, who plans to make his Indy Racing and oval-racing debut in an entry fielded by Beck Motorsports. Keith Duesenberg, a member of the legendary Duesenberg family that built winning cars for the Greatest Spectacle in Racing during the 1920s, is part of the ownership group of the team.

Rookie George Mack, named to drive one of two 310 Racing entries, could become the second African-American to compete in the race. Willy T. Ribbs was the first, making starts in 1991 and 1993.

Another interesting story for the event will be veteran Robby Gordon's attempt to complete the "daily double" of racing in the Indianapolis 500 and the NASCAR Winston Cup Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte, N.C., on the same day. Gordon's full-time Winston Cup owner, the legendary Richard Childress, also is involved in his Indianapolis 500 entry fielded by Team Menard.

Gordon is one of three drivers to complete the Indy-Charlotte double along with John Andretti and Tony Stewart. But only Andretti and Stewart have competed in both races on the same day, as Gordon's attempts to complete the double on the same day were foiled by weather delays at Indy in 1997 and 2000.

Eleven Indianapolis 500 rookies were named to entries, and one of those rookies could make Indy history. Rookies Juan Montoya and Castroneves won the last two Indianapolis 500-Mile Races, respectively, to tie a record. A rookie never has won this race three consecutive years since the inaugural event in 1911.

Opening Day for the 86th Indianapolis 500 is Sunday, May 5. Practice continues daily through May 10, with MBNA Pole Day qualifications on Saturday, May 11. Second-day qualifications take place on Mother's Day, Sunday, May 12.

There will be no track activity May 13-14, but practice will resume Wednesday, May 15 and continue through Saturday, May 18. Bump Day, the final day of qualifications, is scheduled for Sunday, May 19.

No track activity is scheduled May 20-22, but 500 Festival Community Day and the popular public track laps, garage tours and driver autograph session are scheduled for Wednesday, May 22.

Coors Carb Day, the final day of track activity before Race Day, is scheduled for Thursday, May 23. The Coors Carb Day Concert will take place that afternoon, with entertainment to be announced soon.

The public drivers' meeting is scheduled for Saturday, May 25, followed by the 500 Festival Parade in downtown Indianapolis.

The 86th Indianapolis 500 starts is scheduled for noon (EDT) Sunday, May 26.



Former race winners (6): Arie Luyendyk, 2 (1990, 1997); Al Unser Jr., 2 (1992, 1994); Buddy Lazier (1996); Eddie Cheever Jr. (1998); Kenny Brack (1999); Helio Castroneves (2001).

Former pole winners (4): Arie Luyendyk, 3 (1993, 1997, 1999); Al Unser Jr., 1 (1994); Billy Boat, 1 (1998); Scott Sharp, 1 (2001).

Rookies (11): Alex Barron, John de Vries, Dario Franchitti, Shigeaki Hattori, Hideki Noda, Tony Kanaan, Anthony Lazzaro, George Mack, Laurent Redon, Tomas Scheckter, Rick Treadway.

U.S. born (21): Michael Andretti, Alex Barron, Billy Boat, Robbie Buhl, Eddie Cheever Jr., John de Vries, Robby Gordon, Jon Herb, Sam Hornish Jr., Davy Jones, Jimmy Kite, Buddy Lazier, Jaques Lazier, Anthony Lazzaro, George Mack, Robby McGehee, Billy Roe, Scott Sharp, Rick Treadway, Al Unser Jr., Jimmy Vasser.

Foreign born (16): Kenny Brack, Sweden; Helio Castroneves, Brazil; Airton Dare, Brazil; Gil de Ferran, France; Dario Franchitti, Scotland; Felipe Giaffone, Brazil; Shigeaki Hattori, Japan; Johnny Herbert, Great Britain; Bruno Junqueira, Brazil; Tony Kanaan, Brazil; Arie Luyendyk, Netherlands; Laurent Redon, France; Eliseo Salazar, Chile; Tomas Scheckter, South Africa; Paul Tracy, Canada; Jeff Ward, Scotland.

Youngest: Tomas Scheckter, 21.

Oldest: Arie Luyendyk, 48.

Most previous starts: Arie Luyendyk, 16.

CARS (89) Chassis: Dallara 61, G Force 27, TBA 1.
Engines: Chevrolet 75, Infiniti 14.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers John Andretti , Tony Stewart , Tomas Scheckter , Johnny Herbert , Robby Gordon , Robby McGehee , Felipe Giaffone , Eddie Cheever , Al Unser Jr. , Jon Herb , Robbie Buhl , Shigeaki Hattori , Eliseo Salazar , Buddy Lazier , Jeff Ward , Scott Sharp , Arie Luyendyk , Billy Boat , Airton Daré , Helio Castroneves , Gil de Ferran , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Jaques Lazier  , Bruno Junqueira , Jimmy Kite , Bobby Rahal , Paul Tracy , Dario Franchitti , Tony Kanaan , Kenny Brack , Billy Roe , Rick Treadway , Alex Barron , Anthony Lazzaro , Laurent Redon , Al Unser Sr. , George Mack , John de Vries , Hideki Noda , Davy Jones , Chip Ganassi , A.J. Foyt , Brian Barnhart , Sam Hornish Jr. , Sam Hornis
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing