IRL: Indy 500: Schwitzer Award honors innovators

SCHWITZER AWARD REWARDS INNOVATION, EXCELLENCE INDIANAPOLIS, May 20, 1998 -- Louie Schwitzer, not Ray Harroun as most racing followers believe, won the first race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Only that race was a...


INDIANAPOLIS, May 20, 1998 -- Louie Schwitzer, not Ray Harroun as most racing followers believe, won the first race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Only that race was a distance of 5 miles instead of 500.

Schwitzer, a young engineer from Austria, drove a Stoddard-Dayton powered by a four-cylinder, 212-cubic inch engine to an average speed of 57.4 mph in the initial race at the official opening of the Speedway on Aug. 19, 1909. The track was crushed stone, and officials quickly realized the surface would have to be paved with bricks to accommodate the speeding vehicles.

Schwitzer drove again in 1910 and was a relief driver for Harry Cobe in the first 500-Mile Race in 1911.

Though his fame as a driver never reached high levels, his talents as an innovative engineer helped in development of the automobile in the pre-World War II era. He also joined the Speedway technical committee in 1912 and served as its chief from 1919 until the last pre-World War II race in 1941.

Today, Schwitzer's name is remembered each May at the Speedway. The Indiana Section of the Society of Automotive Engineers presents the Louis Schwitzer Award for Engineering Innovation and Excellence to someone involved with the race for a new racecar development. A check for $5,000 goes to the winner.

The committee voted May 19, and the award will be presented May 22.

The award was first presented in 1967 to Andy Granatelli for his turbine-powered car.

"This is the only award that isn't given directly to the car," said Steve Robey, longtime committee member and former chairman.

"It goes to responsible engineers," current chairman Bruce Watson said.

Roby, a former Formula One and Indy-style car mechanic, is manager for Engine Systems, Schwitzer, Inc. Watson works in advance engineering for Cummins Engine Company.

Other committee members are: Pat Wildeman, systems engineer for Allison Transmission Electric Propulsion Systems; Lee Fisher, sports marketing manager for Cummins Engine Company; Steve Holman, program engineer for Borg Warner Automotive Transmission Engineering; John Williams, assistant professor of mechanical engineering technology at Purdue University, and Keith Pierson, engineering director for Kysor Cooling Systems, a Schwitzer Group company.

The Society this year voted on four candidates: 1. The Delphi Delco Electronics Track Condition Radio in-car yellow-light system. 2. The Riley & Scott chassis. 3. The Emco gearbox. 4. The GM safety package.

In addition to the check, the winner will be honored at a banquet, receive an award plaque and garage shingle as well has his/their names added to the permanent trophy maintained in the Speedway Museum.

Previous winners: 1967: Andy Granatelli, turbine-power car 1968: Dan Gurney, low cost racing engine 1969: Colin Chapman, Lotus Type 64 1970: Bruce McLaren, McLaren M15 1971: Josef Karasek, McNamara chassis 1972: Dan Gurney, Eagle chassis 1973: Smokey Yunick, stock block engine 1974: A.J. Foyt, Coyote chassis 1975: Parnelli Jones, Parnelli VP J6 chassis 1976: Roman Slobodynskyj, Lightning chassis 1977: Bruce Crower, Bob Bubenik, automotive clutch and Flat 8 engine 1978: Roman Slobodynskyj, laydown Lightning chassis 1979: Jim Hall, John Barnard, Chaparral 2K chassis 1980: Geoff Ferris, Penske PC-9 chassis 1981: John Ward, Eagle chassis 1982: Geoff Ferris, Penske PC-10 chassis 1983: Vernon Gleasman, Gleason-Torsen differential 1984: Robin Herd, March 84C chassis 1985: Ron Kociba, Joe Negri, Buick V6 turbo engine 1986: Mario Illien, Ilmor-Chevrolet engine 1987: Stuart Grant, Goodyear Racing radial tire 1988: John Lindo, Ray Sorce, Tolton Carbon carbon clutch 1989: Anthony Purnell, Intelligent dashboard 1990: Bill Simpson, Mike Held, Tim Halsmer, Luciano Aquirre, "Beadall" racing helmet 1991: Don Halliday, Truesports 91C chassis 1992: Alan Mertens, Galmer 9200 chassis 1993: Nigel Bennett, Penske Chevy 93 chassis 1994: Mario Illien, Mercedes-Benz 500 I engine 1995: Chris Munroe, Don Nowicki, tire monitoring system 1996: Dave Schnelker, I-Fu Shih, Ning Wu, Ed Rothrock, Racing EyeCue 1997: Ed Keating, Roger Allen, Indy Aurora V8 engine

…indy98-57… Source: IRL

Motorsport News International's Internet Access in Indianapolis Provided by **** IQuest Internet **** * 2035 East 46th Street * Indianapolis, Indiana 46205-1472 * * Phone (317) 259-5050 (800) 844-8649 Fax (317) 259-7289 * * * *

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Dan Gurney , Bruce McLaren , Parnelli Jones , A.J. Foyt , Colin Chapman
Teams Williams