IRL: Indy 500: Felipe Giaffone "Carb Day" notes

Felipe Giaffone ...

Felipe Giaffone
#21 Hollywood/Mo Nunn Racing Chevrolet G-Force
86th Indianapolis 500 - Carburetion Day
Thursday, May 23, 2002
Indianapolis Motor Speedway - 2.5-Mile Oval
Round 5 of 15 on the 2002 Indy Racing League

Felipe Giaffone and the #21 Hollywood/Mo Nunn Racing Chevrolet G-Force recorded the 13th-fastest time of today's Carburetion Day of final practice for the 86th Indianapolis 500. Giaffone, who qualified fourth for Sunday's race, completed 28 laps around the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval with a fast lap of 223.766 mph. His four-lap average qualifying speed on Pole Day (Saturday, May 11) was 230.326 mph.

Giaffone's teammate Tony Kanaan, who will start fifth in Sunday's race, recorded the fastest practice lap of the day at 225.752 mph. Kanaan's four-lap average qualifying speed was 230.253 mph.

Defending Indy Racing League champion Sam Hornish, Jr., was second-fastest today at 225.279 mph, followed by Greg Ray in third at 224.975 mph.

Bruno Junqueira will start on the pole Sunday and will be joined on the front row by Robbie Buhl and Raul Boesel. Race time Sunday is 11 a.m. local time (noon EDT) with a live broadcast set for ABC-TV.


"The car is quite alright in traffic, which is a very important thing for Sunday's race. Unfortunately, we didn't have speed when we were on our own because we seemed to have a little too much downforce dialed into the car. We worked really hard all month and we know what we are capable of doing on Sunday. It's been great to have a teammate in Tony because we have been able to exchange information and set-ups and everything, and that has made both of our lives much easier. I'm looking forward to Sunday very much. I think we have a very competitive car. Just like any race, you just have to stay out of trouble and stay with the leaders as much as possible and hope for the best at the end. That is especially important here."


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Greg Ray , Felipe Giaffone , Robbie Buhl , Bruno Junqueira , Raul Boesel , Tony Kanaan , Mo Nunn , Sam Hornis