IRL: Indy 500 entries as of 2004-04-06

<pre> 88th Indianapolis 500 entry list (Updated as of April 6) Driver Entrant Car ...

<pre> 88th Indianapolis 500 entry list (Updated as of April 6)

Driver Entrant Car# Team C/E/T Entry Date

Kosuke Matsuura (R)     Super Aguri Fernandez Racing
        55, 55T  Panasonic ARTA                                 G/H/F   March 4
Adrian Fernandez        Fernandez Racing
        5, 5T    Quaker State Telmex Tecate                     G/H/F   March 12
Marty Roth (R)          Roth Racing
        25       Roth Racing                                    D/T/F   March 12
Robby Gordon            Team Gordon
        70, 70T  TBA                                            D/C/F    March 29
Mark Taylor (R)         Panther Racing
        2, 2T    Menards/Johns Manville                         D/C/F   March 29
Tomas Scheckter         Panther Racing
        4, 4T    Pennzoil Panther Dallara                       D/C/F   March 29
TBA                     Panther Racing
        44, 44T  Pedigo Chevrolet                               D/C/F   March 29
Al Unser Jr.            Patrick Racing
        20, 20T  Patrick Racing                                 D/C/F   March 29
Scott Dixon             Target Chip Ganassi Racing
        1, 1T    Target Chip Ganassi Racing Panoz/Toyota        G/T/F   March 30
Darren Manning (R)      Target Chip Ganassi Racing
        10, 10T  Target Chip Ganassi Racing Panoz/Toyota        G/T/F   March 30
Scott Sharp             Kelley Racing
        8, 8T    Delphi                                         D/T/F   March 30
Sarah Fisher            Kelley Racing
        39, 39T  TBA                                            D/T/F   March 30
Tora Takagi             Pioneer Mo Nunn Racing
        12, 12T  Pioneer Mo Nunn Racing                         D/T/F   March 30
A.J. Foyt IV            A.J. Foyt Enterprises
        14, 14T  Conseco/A.J. Foyt Racing                       D/T/F   March 30
TBA                     A.J. Foyt Enterprises
        41, 41T  A.J. Foyt Racing                               D/T/F   March 30
Robbie Buhl             Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
        24, 24T  Team Purex/Dreyer & Reinbold                   D/C/F   March 30
TBA                     Hemelgarn Racing
        91, 91T* TBA                                            D/C/F   March 31
TBA                     Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
        23       TBA                                            D/C/F   March 31
Helio Castroneves       Marlboro Team Penske
        3, 3T    Marlboro Team Penske                           D/T/F   March 31
Sam Hornish Jr.         Marlboro Team Penske
        6, 6T    Marlboro Team Penske                           D/T/F   March 31
TBA                     Marlboro Team Penske
        66, 66T  Marlboro Team Penske                           G/T/F   March 31
Bryan Herta             Andretti Green Racing
        7, 7T    XM Satellite Radio                             D/H/F   March 31
Tony Kanaan             Andretti Green Racing
        11, 11T  Team 7-Eleven                                  D/H/F   March 31
Dan Wheldon             Andretti Green Racing
        26, 26T  Klein Tools/Jim Beam                           D/H/F   March 31
Dario Franchitti        Andretti Green Racing
        27, 27T  Arca/Ex                                        D/H/F   March 31
TBA                     PDM Racing
        18, 18T* TBA                                            D/C/F   March 31
Alex Barron             Red Bull Cheever Racing
        51, 51T  Red Bull Cheever Racing Chevrolet              D/C/F   March 31
Ed Carpenter (R)        Red Bull Cheever Racing
        52, 52T  Red Bull Cheever Racing Chevrolet              D/C/F   March 31
TBA                     Nunn Racing
        21, 21T  TBA                                            D/T/F   March 31
Buddy Rice              Rahal/Letterman Racing
        15, 15T  Rahal/Letterman Argent/Pioneer                 G/H/F   March 31
Roger Yasukawa          Rahal/Letterman Racing
        16, 16T  Rahal/Letterman Racing Sammy                   G/H/F   March 31
TBA                     Rahal/Letterman Racing
        17, 17T  Rahal/Letterman Racing                         G/H/F   March 31
TBA                     Beck Motorsports
        54, 54T  TBA                                            D/C/F   March 31
Greg Ray                Access Motorsports
        13, 13T TBA                                             G/H/F   March 31
TBA                     Newman/Haas Racing
        TBA                                                     TBA     March 31

Key: C/E/T-Chassis/Engine/Tire D-Dallara; G-Panoz G Force C-Chevrolet; H-Honda; T-Toyota F-Firestone (R)-Indianapolis 500 rookie; TBA-to be announced.


DRIVERS (25) Former race winners: Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002), Al Unser Jr. (1992, 1994). Former pole winners: Helio Castroneves (2003), Greg Ray (2000), Scott Sharp (2001), Al Unser Jr. (1994). Rookies (5): Ed Carpenter, Darren Manning, Kosuke Matsuura, Marty Roth, Mark Taylor.

U.S. born (13): Alex Barron, Robbie Buhl, Ed Carpenter, Sarah Fisher, A.J. Foyt IV, Robby Gordon, Bryan Herta, Sam Hornish Jr., Greg Ray, Buddy Rice, Scott Sharp, Al Unser Jr., Roger Yasukawa. Foreign born (12): Helio Castroneves, Brazil; Scott Dixon, New Zealand; Adrian Fernandez, Mexico; Dario Franchitti, Great Britain; Tony Kanaan, Brazil; Darren Manning, Great Britain; Kosuke Matsuura, Japan; Marty Roth, Canada; Tomas Scheckter, South Africa; Tora Takagi, Japan; Mark Taylor, Great Britain; Dan Wheldon, Great Britain.

Youngest: A.J. Foyt IV, 19. Oldest: Marty Roth, 45.

Most previous starts: Al Unser Jr., 16.

CARS (68) Chassis: Dallara 46, Panoz G Force 18, TBA 4. Engines: Toyota 23, Chevrolet 21, Honda 20, TBA 4.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Tomas Scheckter , Mark Taylor , Darren Manning , Robby Gordon , Sarah Fisher , Greg Ray , Al Unser Jr. , Robbie Buhl , Scott Sharp , Helio Castroneves , A.J. Foyt IV , Adrian Fernandez , Dario Franchitti , Scott Dixon , Tony Kanaan , Tora Takagi , Bryan Herta , Alex Barron , Dan Wheldon , Roger Yasukawa , Buddy Rice , Marty Roth , Kosuke Matsuura , Chip Ganassi , A.J. Foyt , Jim Beam , Sam Hornish Jr. , Ed Carpenter , Mo Nunn
Teams A.J. Foyt Enterprises , Panther Racing , Team Penske , Chip Ganassi Racing , Dreyer & Reinbold Racing