IRL: Greg Ray, Sam Schmidt, Third Foyt Car Entered in Indy500

RAY, SCHMIDT, THIRD FOYT CAR ENTERED IN INDIANAPOLIS 500 By Paul Kelly INDIANAPOLIS, April 6, 1999 - 1998 front-row phenomenon Greg Ray and Treadway Racing driver Sam Schmidt were entered April 5 for the 83rd Indianapolis...


INDIANAPOLIS, April 6, 1999 - 1998 front-row phenomenon Greg Ray and Treadway Racing driver Sam Schmidt were entered April 5 for the 83rd Indianapolis 500, and four-time Indy winner A.J. Foyt entered a third car April 6 for a driver to be named. The entry deadline for the Indianapolis 500, May 30 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, is midnight April 9. Ray will drive the #2 Glidden-Menards Dallara/Aurora/Firestone for Team Menard, which he joined this Pep Boys Indy Racing League season. John O'Gara is the chief mechanic with Thomas Knapp as team manager. Driving for the low-budget TKM/Genoa Racing team last year, Ray stunned the motorsports world by qualifying second at Indianapolis at 221.125 mph. He led 18 laps of the race before falling out with gearbox problems, finishing 18th. Ray, from Plano, Texas, will attempt to make his third start at Indianapolis. He finished 25th as a rookie in 1997. Schmidt, from Las Vegas, will drive the #99 G Force/Aurora/Firestone fielded by Treadway Racing as a teammate to two-time Indianapolis 500 champion Arie Luyendyk, making his final drive at the Speedway this year. Tony VanDongen will be Schmidt's chief mechanic, with Skip Faul as team manager. Like Ray, Schmidt will attempt to make his third start in the 500. He finished 26th in 1998, eliminated in an accident on Lap 48, after starting sixth. He finished 34th in his Speedway debut in 1997. The unnamed driver of Foyt's third entry will be a teammate to full-time Foyt drivers 1998 Pep Boys Indy Racing League champion Kenny Brack and 1998 Indianapolis 500 PPG Pole winner Billy Boat. The third Foyt entry is the #41 A.J. Foyt Racing Dallara/Aurora/Goodyear, with Tommy LaMance as team manager and a chief mechanic to be announced. Foyt last fielded three cars at Indianapolis in 1997, when Davey Hamilton finished sixth, Boat seventh and Paul Durant 21st.

1999 INDIANAPOLIS 500 ENTRIES (as of April 6) Driver Entrant Car C/E/T Entry Date

Stephan Gregoire Dick Simon Racing #7, #7T Mexmil-Tokheim G/A/F Feb. 19 Scott Sharp Kelley Racing #8, #8T Delphi Automotive Systems D/A/G March 1 Mark Dismore Kelley Racing #28, #28T MCI WorldCom D/A/G March 1 Buzz Calkins Bradley Motorsports #12, #12T Bradley Food Marts-Sav-O-Mat D/A/F G/A/F* March 1 Billy Boat A.J. Foyt Enterprises #11, #11T A.J. Foyt Racing D/A March 1 Kenny Brack A.J. Foyt Enterprises #14, #14T A.J. Foyt-Power Team Racing D/A March 1 Robby Gordon Team Gordon #23, #23T Johns Manville-Menards-Duracell G/A/F March 16 Arie Luyendyk Treadway Racing #5, #5T Sprint PCS/Meijer G/A/F March 22 Davey Hamilton Barnhart Motorsports #25, #25T Barnhart Motorsports- Spinal Victory D/A/G March 22 Andy Michner Brant Racing #3, #3T Brant Racing R&S MKV R/A/G March 22 Stan Wattles Metro Racing Systems #19, #19T Metro Racing Systems/NCLD D/A/G R/A/G* March 26 Donnie Beechler Cahill Racing #98, #98T Cahill Racing-Firestone- Oldsmobile-Dallara D/A/F March 26 Buddy Lazier Hemelgarn Racing #91, #91T Delta Faucet-Coors Light- Tae-Bo-Hemelgarn Racing D/A/G April 2 Johnny Unser Hemelgarn Racing #92, #92T Tae-Bo-Hemelgarn Racing- Homier Tool-Delta Faucet D/A/G April 2 TBA Hemelgarn Racing #93, #93T Hemelgarn Racing D/A/G April 2 Scott Goodyear Panther Racing #4, #4T Pennzoil Panther-G Force G/A/G April 2 Sam Schmidt Treadway Racing #99, #99T TBA G/A/F April 5 Greg Ray Team Menard #2, #2T Glidden-Menards D/A/F April 5 TBA A.J. Foyt Enterprises #41, #41T A.J. Foyt Racing D/A/G April 6

TBA - to be announced C/E/T - Chassis/Engine/Tire. Chassis key: G - G Force; D-Dallara; R-Riley & Scott. Engine key: A-Aurora; I-Infiniti. Tire key: F - Firestone; G - Goodyear. * -- backup car

Source: IRL/IMS

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Robby Gordon , Buzz Calkins , Greg Ray , Buddy Lazier , Stephan Gregoire , Davey Hamilton , Scott Sharp , Arie Luyendyk , Billy Boat , Mark Dismore , Scott Goodyear , Donnie Beechler , Kenny Brack , Sam Schmidt , Stan Wattles , Johnny Unser , Paul Kelly , Dick Simon , A.J. Foyt
Teams A.J. Foyt Enterprises , Panther Racing