IRL: B. Lazier, Goodyear, J. Unser Enter Indianaplis 500

B. LAZIER, GOODYEAR, J. UNSER ENTER INDIANAPOLIS 500 By Paul Kelly INDIANAPOLIS, April 5, 1999 - 1996 Indianapolis 500 winner Buddy Lazier, two-time runner-up Scott Goodyear and Johnny Unser were entered in the 83rd Indianapolis...


By Paul Kelly

INDIANAPOLIS, April 5, 1999 - 1996 Indianapolis 500 winner Buddy Lazier, two-time runner-up Scott Goodyear and Johnny Unser were entered in the 83rd Indianapolis 500 on April 2.

Lazier and Unser will be teammates with Hemelgarn Racing, while Pep Boys Indy Racing League points leader Goodyear will drive for Panther Racing in the Greatest Spectacle in Racing on May 30. The entry deadline is midnight April 9. Lazier and Unser were entered in Dallara/Aurora/Goodyear cars. Lazier will drive car #91 with sponsorship from Delta Faucet, Coors Light, Tae-Bo and Hemelgarn Racing, with Dennis LaCava as chief mechanic. Unser will drive car #92 with sponsorship from Tae-Bo, Hemelgarn Racing, Homier Tool and Delta Faucet, with Scott Marks as chief mechanic. Hemelgarn Racing also entered the #93 Dallara/Aurora/Goodyear for a driver to be announced. Veteran Lee Kunzman will oversee preparation of all three Hemelgarn cars as team manager. No driver has a better record at the Indianapolis 500 since 1996 than Lazier. Besides his victory in 1996, he finished fourth in 1997 and runner-up to Eddie Cheever Jr. in 1998. Lazier, from Vail, Colo., has made six starts in the race since 1991. Unser, from Sun Valley, Idaho, will try to qualify for his fourth consecutive Indianapolis 500. His best finish was 18th in 1997. Car number 92 has special significance for Unser, as his late father, Jerry Unser, used the same number in the 1958 Indianapolis 500. Jerry Unser, who suffered fatal injuries in a practice crash in 1959 at Indianapolis, was the first of the famous Unser family to race in the Indianapolis 500. Goodyear, from Carmel, Ind., will drive the #4 Pennzoil Panther-G Force G Force/Aurora/Goodyear with Kevin Blanch as chief mechanic and John Barnes as team manager. National Football League quarterback Jim Harbaugh is one of the co-owners of the team. This could be the year that Goodyear finally breaks through for his first victory at Indianapolis, as he carries tremendous momentum with the Pep Boys Indy Racing League points lead. Goodyear earned his first career league victory at the MCI WorldCom 200 on March 28 at Phoenix and finished second at the season-opening TransWorld Diversified Services Indy 200 at Walt Disney World Speedway in January. Goodyear, a native of Toronto, finished second to Al Unser Jr. in the 1992 Indianapolis 500 by .043 of a second, the closest finish in Indianapolis 500 history. He also was second to Arie Luyendyk in 1997 when both were teammates for Treadway Racing.

Lazier, Goodyear and Unser are expected to participate in the Indianapolis 500 Open Test on April 10-11 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The Rookie Orientation Program takes place April 8-9 at the Speedway. Practice and testing takes place from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. each of the four days.

1999 INDIANAPOLIS 500 ENTRIES (as of April 5) Driver Entrant/Car C/E/T Entry Date Stephan Gregoire Dick Simon Racing #7, #7T Mexmil-Tokheim G/A/F Feb. 19 Scott Sharp Kelley Racing #8, #8T Delphi Automotive Systems D/A/G March 1 Mark Dismore Kelley Racing #28, #28T MCI WorldCom D/A/G March 1 Buzz Calkins Bradley Motorsports #12, #12T Bradley Food Marts-Sav-O-Mat D/A/F March 1 Billy Boat A.J. Foyt Enterprises #11, #11T A.J. Foyt Racing D/A March 1 Kenny Brack A.J. Foyt Enterprises #14, #14T A.J. Foyt-Power Team Racing D/A March 1 Robby Gordon Team Gordon #23, #23T Johns Manville-Menards-Duracell G/A/F March 16 Arie Luyendyk Treadway Racing #5, #5T Sprint PCS/Meijer G/A/F March 22 Davey Hamilton Barnhart Motorsports #25, #25T Barnhart Motorsports-Spinal Victory D/A/G March 22 Andy Michner Brant Racing #3, #3T Brant Racing R&S MKV R/A/G March 22 Stan Wattles Metro Racing Systems #19, #19T Metro Racing Systems/NCLD D/A/G R/A/G* March 26 Donnie Beechler Cahill Racing #98, #98T Cahill Racing-Firestone-Oldsmobile-Dallara D/A/F March 26 Buddy Lazier Hemelgarn Racing #91, #91T Delta Faucet-Coors Light-Tae-Bo-Hemelgarn Racing D/A/G April 2 Johnny Unser Hemelgarn Racing #92, #92T Tae-Bo-Hemelgarn Racing-Homier Tool-Delta Faucet D/A/G April 2 TBA Hemelgarn Racing #93, #93T Hemelgarn Racing D/A/G April 2 Scott Goodyear Panther Racing #4, #4T Pennzoil Panther-G Force G/A/G April 2

TBA - to be announced C/E/T - Chassis/Engine/Tire. Chassis key: G - G Force; D-Dallara; R-Riley & Scott. Engine key: A-Aurora; I-Infiniti. Tire key: F - Firestone; G - Goodyear. * -- backup car

Source: IMS/IRL

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Robby Gordon , Buzz Calkins , Eddie Cheever , Al Unser Jr. , Buddy Lazier , Stephan Gregoire , Davey Hamilton , Scott Sharp , Arie Luyendyk , Billy Boat , Mark Dismore , Scott Goodyear , Donnie Beechler , Kenny Brack , Stan Wattles , Johnny Unser , Paul Kelly , Dick Simon , John Barnes , A.J. Foyt
Teams A.J. Foyt Enterprises , Panther Racing