IndyCar Series Places Three Drivers On Probation

IndyCar Series Places Three Drivers On Probation

Indianapolis, Indiana

Story Highlights

  • Avoidable contact by drivers
  • IndyCar officials take action

IndyCar places Conway, Hunter-Reay and Tagliani on probation

INDYCAR officials have placed drivers Mike Conway, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Alex Tagliani on probation through Dec. 31, 2011 for multiple instances of initiating avoidable contact during IZOD IndyCar Series events this season.

"We are disappointed in these actions, which have exhibited a pattern of driving that endangers on-track safety and adversely affects competition," said Brian Barnhart, president of competition and operations, INDYCAR.

Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport in the pits for a front wing change
Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport in the pits for a front wing change

Photo by: Eric Gilbert

Conway, of Andretti Autosport, was penalized for avoidable contact with Ryan Briscoe at Toronto and Oriol Servia at Edmonton. Teammate Hunter-Reay was cited for the same violation after contact with Briscoe at Barber and Takuma Sato at Edmonton. Sam Schmidt Motorsports' Alex Tagliani was deemed in violation of the rule after contact with Will Power at Toronto and Graham Rahal at Edmonton.

If the improvements are not met, INDYCAR may impose other penalties at its discretion.

Per Rule 9.3 of the rulebook, a competitor must not initiate or attempt to initiate avoidable contact that results in the interruption of another competitor's lap time or track position.

The drivers may protest as pursuant to the rulebook.

By: indycar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Takuma Sato , Alex Tagliani , Oriol Servia , Graham Rahal , Sam Schmidt , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Ryan Briscoe , Mike Conway , Eric Gilbert , Will Power , Brian Barnhart
Teams Andretti Autosport
Tags conway, hunter-reay, indycar, izod, tagliani