Panther Racing Edmonton Race Report

Edmonton City Centre Airport

Hildebrand Climbs Ladder Again in Edmonton; Finishes 11th for Panther

IZOD IndyCar Rookie of the Year Points Leader Has Moved Up a Total of 64 Positions in Six Non-Oval Starts

J.R. Hildebrand, Panther Racing
J.R. Hildebrand, Panther Racing

Photo by: Covy Moore

National Guard Panther Racing driver JR Hildebrand climbed the grid yet again Sunday during the Honda Indy Edmonton, where the IZOD IndyCar Series rookie climbed a total of 13 positions for an 11th-place finish on the City Centre Airport circuit. Hildebrand has now improved his finishing position relative to where he qualified by a total of 64 positions in his six road/street course starts; St. Pete (+13), Barber (+2), Long Beach (+10), Brazil (+12), Toronto (+14) and now Edmonton (+13). Hildebrand has also completed 100 percent of the possible 495 laps held this season on road and street courses.

After starting in the 24th position, JR moved up to 15th by the team’s first pit stop during a full-course caution on Lap 26. He later passed Marco Andretti into Turn Five on Lap 41 to move up to 13th position, with several cars ahead of him running an alternate fuel strategy. Hildebrand advanced up to 12th position when Alex Tagliani had to pit for fuel and with three laps remaining JR made a move to pass former Panther driver Vitor Meira into the last corner to help secure his final finishing position of 11th.

The National Guard Panther Racing team currently ranks in the ninth position in the IZOD IndyCar Series points standings, and in 11 starts this season has collected four Top Ten and two Top Five finishes. Hildebrand is tied for ninth with Helio Castroneves, and is just six points behind Graham Rahal, who is in the eighth position. Hildebrand also extended his lead in the IZOD IndyCar Series Rookie of the Year points’ championship by 39 points over fellow rookie James Hinchcliffe.

Team Penske driver Will Power captured the victory and was joined on the podium by teammate Castroneves and current championship points leader Dario Franchitti of Ganassi Racing.

By: panther racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Alex Tagliani , Dario Franchitti , Graham Rahal , Marco Andretti , Will Power , James Hinchcliffe , J.R. Hildebrand , Vitor Meira
Teams Panther Racing , Team Penske , Chip Ganassi Racing
Tags alberta, canada, edmonton, hildebrand, indycar, panther racing