IMS: Indy 500 entry update 2011-04-06

Indianapolis 500

Story Highlights

  • Last-minute entries continue

Many teams preparing additional or 'one-off' entries for May 29 race

A windy day in Indianapolis, Indiana
A windy day in Indianapolis, Indiana

Photo by: Michael C. Johnson

INDIANAPOLIS, Wednesday, April 6, 2011 - Last-minute entries for the 100th Anniversary Indianapolis 500 continued to arrive when the entry deadline was reached April 6, as the field of drivers and teams attempting to earn a spot in the "Most Important Race in History" is taking shape.

The initial entry list for the Sunday, May 29 race will be released soon. All full-season IZOD IndyCar Series teams will field entries in the race, with some adding Indianapolis-only entries to their lineup. Some teams also are fielding entries only for the "500." A look at some of the limited-season or "one-off" entries with assigned drivers already announced for the Indianapolis 500:

•A.J. Foyt Racing: Bruno Junqueira

•Andretti Autosport: John Andretti

•Bryan Herta Autosport: Dan Wheldon

•Dreyer & Reinbold Racing: Davey Hamilton, Paul Tracy

•KV Racing Technology/SH Racing: Tomas Scheckter

•Rahal Letterman Lanigan: Bertrand Baguette

•Sam Schmidt Motorsports: Townsend Bell

•Sam Schmidt Motorsports/Rahal Letterman Lanigan: Jay Howard

•Sarah Fisher Racing: Ed Carpenter

Opening Day for the 100th Anniversary Indianapolis 500 is Saturday, May 14. The 100th Anniversary Indianapolis 500 Celebration of Automobiles also will take place at IMS that day.

Month of May activity at IMS starts Saturday, May 7 with Emerging Tech Day, presented by Allison Transmission, Indianapolis Power & Light, Duke Energy and the U.S. Army, and the Allison Transmission Balloon Festival.


2011 Indianapolis 500 tickets: Tickets are on sale for the 100th Anniversary Indianapolis 500, "The Most Important Race in History," on Sunday, May 29, 2011 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Race Day ticket prices start at just $30. Fans can buy tickets online at, by calling the IMS ticket office at (317) 492-6700, or (800) 822-INDY outside the Indianapolis area, or by visiting the ticket office at the IMS Administration Building at the corner of Georgetown Road and 16th Street between 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (ET) Monday-Friday.

Children 12 and under will be receive free general admission to any IMS event in 2011 when accompanied by an adult general admission ticket holder.

Tickets for groups of 20 or more also are on sale. Contact the IMS Group Sales Department at (866) 221-8775 for more information.

-source: ims

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers John Andretti , Tomas Scheckter , Sarah Fisher , Davey Hamilton , Bruno Junqueira , Paul Tracy , Bryan Herta , Townsend Bell , Dan Wheldon , Sam Schmidt , Bertrand Baguette , Jay Howard , A.J. Foyt , Ed Carpenter
Teams Andretti Autosport , Bryan Herta Autosport , KV Racing Technology
Tags andretti, foyt, indianapolis, indy 500, weldon