Hunter-Reay wins at Milwaukee IndyFest

Hunter-Reay started race from the fourth position.

This is Hunter-Reay's second win of the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season as the American-born driver is on his way to defending his 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series title.

It marks the 11th career Indy car victory for Hunter-Reay, a 32-year-old resident of Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport Chevrolet celebrates
Race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport Chevrolet celebrates

Photo by: Chris Jones

Today's race is Hunter-Reay's eighth win with Andretti Autosport and he extends his distinction of being the winningest active American driver in the IZOD IndyCar Series and the only American driver to visit victory lane in 2013.

His previous IZOD IndyCar Series victories were: Barber Motorsports Parks (2013/Andretti Autosport), Baltimore (2012/Andretti Autosport), Toronto (2012/Andretti Autosport), Iowa (2012/Andretti Autosport), Milwaukee (2012/Andretti Autosport), New Hampshire (2011/Andretti Autosport), Long Beach (2010/Andretti Autosport) and Watkins Glen (2008/Rahal Letterman Racing). He also has victories in the CART/Champ Car Series at Milwaukee (2004) and Surfer's Paradise (2003).

Hunter-Reay has been the top-finishing American driver in the IZOD IndyCar Series points for three seasons in a row. Hunter-Reay is the only driver to score victories in the IZOD IndyCar Series, CART, Champ Car, Grand-Am and the American Le Mans series.

This is the 47 th IZOD IndyCar Series victory for Andretti Autosport. Since 2003, Andretti Autosport has scored four series titles ('04/Kanaan, '05/Wheldon, '07/Franchitti and '12/Hunter-Reay) and two Indianapolis 500 wins ('05/Wheldon and '07/Franchitti).

Andretti Autosport has four full-time entries in the IZOD IndyCar Series, with Hunter-Reay, E.J. Viso (No. 5 Team Venezuela PDVSA CITGO Chevrolet) Marco Andretti (No. 25 RC Cola Chevrolet) and James Hinchcliffe (No. 27 Go Daddy Chevrolet). Andretti Autosport is the only team with entries in each of the Mazda Road to Indy ladder series categories.

Andretti Autosport

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Ryan Hunter-Reay , Marco Andretti , James Hinchcliffe , Chris Jones
Teams Andretti Autosport
Article type Race report
Tags andretti, chevrolet, hinchcliffe, hunter-reay, indycar, milwaukee mile, viso