Hinchcliffe wins rain-marred and crash-filled race NOLA

James Hinchcliffe survived the carnage and had just enough fuel to make it to the line Sunday.

James Hinchcliffe has earned his first win since June of 2013, taking the checkered flag in the inaugural NOLA event. The wet race was shortened by time constraints and featured multiple accidents.

Schmidt-Peterson Motorsports also took the third spot on the podium with James Jakes, the two teammates split by Team Penske's Helio Castroneves in second.

Simona De Silvestro gave a very impressive performance, placing fourth for Andretti, just ahead of Ganassi's Tony Kanaan in fifth.

47 laps were completed before the race was ended under caution, after a controversial three-car wreck that took out Simon Pagenaud, Ryan-Hunter Reay, and Sebastien Bourdais.

RHR and Pagenaud did not see eye-to-eye after the collision.

Driver Team/Engine
James Hinchcliffe Schmidt/Honda 1h47m19.4896
Helio Castroneves Penske/Chevrolet +0.4279
James Jakes Schmidt/Honda +0.8452
Simona de Silvestro Andretti/Honda +1.2924
Juan Pablo Montoya Penske/Chevrolet +1.7564
Tony Kanaan Ganassi/Chevrolet +2.2638
Will Power Penske/Chevrolet +3.0958
Graham Rahal Rahal/Honda +4.3495
Josef Newgarden CFH/Chevrolet +5.7352
10  Luca Filippi CFH/Chevrolet +7.2115
11  Scott Dixon Ganassi/Chevrolet +7.8421
12  Carlos Munoz Andretti/Honda +9.0899
13  Marco Andretti Andretti/Honda +9.7817
14  Charlie Kimball Ganassi/Chevrolet +15.7221
15  Gabby Chaves Herta/Honda  
16  Carlos Huertas Coyne/Honda  
17  Stefano Coletti KV/Chevrolet  
18  Sage Karam Ganassi/Chevrolet  
19  Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti/Honda  
20  Simon Pagenaud Penske/Chevrolet  
21  Sébastien Bourdais KV/Chevrolet  
22  Takuma Sato Foyt/Honda  
23  Francesco Dracone Coyne/Honda  
24  Jack Hawksworth Foyt/Honda
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event New Orleans
Track NOLA Motorsports Park
Drivers Juan Pablo Montoya
Article type Race report