Ganassi returns to two IndyCar entries for 2018

Chip Ganassi has confirmed that his team will reduce its number of IndyCar entries from four to two next season.

Scott Dixon will remain in the #9 Ganassi-Honda for a 17th year. The four-time champion ended this season in third place in the championship, meaning he has finished in the top three in the points table for 10 of the last 11 years.

However, Tony Kanaan is set to join AJ Foyt Racing, leaving the #10 seat open, while the rides of Charlie Kimball and Max Chilton have been cut after seven and two seasons at the team respectively.

Rumors are rife that Porsche WEC ace Brendon Hartley will join compatriot Dixon for next year, with Mahindra Formula E driver Felix Rosenqvist possibly joining in 2019.

In the meantime, CGR returns to a two-car team for the first time since 2010, when Dixon and Dario Franchitti cemented their status as two of the aces of the unified open-wheel era.

In an official statement, Ganassi stated: “We will be returning to a two-car team beginning in 2018 with Scott Dixon in the #9 and a yet-to-be-determined second driver in the #10.

“This decision was based on the fact that we felt we needed to get back to our core business of running TWO championship-caliber teams. It was a tough decision to make as it affects a lot of people.

"With news like this comes contraction and as such we had to let a number of good people go.  The decision was not taken lightly but we felt it was best for our business.

“It is one of the toughest things you experience as a business owner – especially because I am all-too aware that it is the people who make any company tick. 

“We will be back in 2018 and ready to compete for our 12th IndyCar championship.”

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Scott Dixon
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing
Article type Breaking news