Dixon on Mid-Ohio pole; title contenders deep in the pack

The lineup has been set for the Mid-Ohio round of the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series championship.

Scott Dixon is looking to get back in the title fight and so far, he's gotten the job done. He will start from pole position in tomorrow's race. Will Power will start alongside, making it a Ganassi/Penske front row.

In 1999, Dario Franchitti set the fastest lap ever at the circuit, going 1:05.347 seconds. One year later, Gil de Ferran ran the identical time. And now, 15 years after that, Dixon has blown that time out of the water with a 1:04.5814.

“It’s great that the Target car has a lot of speed, but as you saw last year with us winning from the last row that anything can happen,” said Dixon.

"We can't really race for the championship right now. We have to race for wins.  It is hard with that mind-set when you get close. There are 200 and something points on the table. We've been strong all year, but we haven't got the results that we wanted. We'll see what we can do."

Sebastien Bourdais and Helio Castroneves will share the second row, ahead of Josef Newgarden and Charlie Kimball.

After winning at Iowa, Honda failed to get even a single car into the Fast Six for Mid-Ohio. Hunter-Reay was their best showing back in seventh while Graham Rahal, who comes into this race second in the standings, was 13th.

Championship leader Juan Pablo Montoya will be nearby in 10th, behind Tony Kanaan and Luca Filippi.

Qualifying results:

Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
1 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 1'04.5814 -
2 Will Power Penske 1'04.6782 0.0968
3 Sebastien Bourdais KV Racing 1'04.9965 0.4151
4 Helio Castroneves Penske 1'05.0625 0.4811
5 Josef Newgarden CFH Racing 1'05.0728 0.4914
6 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing 1'05.0784 0.4970
7 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport 1'05.0455 0.4641
8 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing 1'05.0647 0.4833
9 Luca Filippi CFH Racing 1'05.1616 0.5802
10 Juan Pablo Montoya Penske 1'05.2081 0.6267
11 Jack Hawksworth A. J. Foyt Enterprises 1'05.2291 0.6477
12 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport 1'05.3931 0.8117
13 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 1'05.9650 1.3836
14 Justin Wilson Andretti Autosport 1'05.5886 1.0072
15 Simon Pagenaud Penske 1'05.9877 1.4063
16 Takuma Sato A. J. Foyt Enterprises 1'05.5933 1.0119
17 James Jakes Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 1'06.0671 1.4857
18 Stefano Coletti KV Racing 1'05.6204 1.0390
19 Sage Karam Chip Ganassi Racing 1'06.0688 1.4874
20 Ryan Briscoe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 1'05.7053 1.1239
21 Gabby Chaves Bryan Herta Autosport 1'06.2195 1.6381
22 Rodolfo Gonzalez Dale Coyne Racing 1'05.9698 1.3884
23 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport 1'06.9891 2.4077
24 Tristan Vautier Dale Coyne Racing 1'06.0814 1.5000
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event Mid-Ohio
Track Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
Article type Qualifying report