Dixon claims third IndyCar championship

Scott Dixon was able to beat Helio Castroneves for the 2013 IndyCar title

There were less scenarios going on in 2013 than in 2012 because the championship was so close. This year, Scott Dixon seemed assured to win all weekend, and so he did. The 2013 Izod IndyCar championship was won by the New Zealander in professional and handy fashion, driving the #9 Team Target car for Target Chip Ganassi Racing.

Oh yes, and there was a 500 mile race too. When I ran into Elizabeth Power this afternoon, we talked of how determined her husband, Will Power, was to win the MAVTV 500 this year. I have learned to simply get out of his way when I see that look in his eyes. He said, “This is the win of my life. It’s the most important thing I’ve ever done”. It was Power’s third win of the 2013 season.

Second and third were the only two drivers who could have won the Fuzzy Triple Crown (two thirds of it anyway), the #20 car driven by Ed Carpenter and the #11 car driven by Tony Kanaan.

There were only 9 cars running at the end of the race due to problems with the track and many crashes.

Chevrolet won the engine manufacturers’ trophy for the second consecutive year.

Lisa Davidson

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Scott Dixon , Tony Kanaan , Chip Ganassi , Will Power , Ed Carpenter
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing
Article type Commentary
Tags champion, dixon, fontana, ganassi, indycar, scott