Dario Franchitti takes his third Sonoma pole

Franchitti wins the Verizon P1 award for the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma, teammate Dixon on front row

SONOMA, Calif. (Saturday, Aug. 24, 2013) - There has been nine different winners through 14 IZOD IndyCar Series races. Dario Franchitti would gladly be the 10th with his 32nd career victory.

The four-time series champion will have an advantageous starting position for the 85-lap GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma after earning his fourth Verizon P1 Award of the season. The Scotsman turned a lap of 1 minute, 17.5271 seconds in the Firestone Fast Six session on the 2.385-mile, 12-turn road course.

It was Franchitti's third pole start at Sonoma Raceway, and teammate Scott Dixon (1:17.7196) will start on the front row for second time at track. Both have won the IZOD IndyCar Series race at Sonoma, and Chip Ganassi Racing cars have won the past four races of the 2013 season.

Dixon, a three-time winner this season, enters the 85-lap race 31 points behind series championship front-runner Helio Castroneves, who qualified fifth in the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske car.

Ryan Hunter-Reay, third in the standings, qualified fourth in the No. 1 DHL car for Andretti Autosport. Will Power, who set the track record of 1:17.2709 in earning the pole last August, will start third in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Dario Franchitti , Scott Dixon , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Chip Ganassi , Will Power
Teams Andretti Autosport , Team Penske , Chip Ganassi Racing
Article type Qualifying report
Tags andretti, castroneves, dixon, franchitti, front row, ganassi, hunter-reay, penske, sonoma